Modern Home Theatre Build w/ 3D Renders - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 46 Old 10-04-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi folks. My name's Ethan, I've been a member for several years now, but this is my first post (I think) in this particular forum. Some of you might know me from the 5-way $1k Subwoofer Shootout my brother and I put together. Well it's finally time for my brother to build his own dedicated theatre room, and since Architecture is what I do for a living, I came up with a concept for him. Here it is:

(Please click on images for large views)

Now there are going to be a few changes in the actual build, we know this already. For example, he no longer wants a cinema scope screen, he want a 16:9 screen. Also I've placed four Rythmik F25 subwoofers in the room, but I believe he's going to go with custom subs with 18" drivers.

Equipment List (my brother wrote this part):

1. AVR = Probably a Denon 4520. I *might* go with Emo amps and an Integra pre/pro I'm just not sure yet. As long as the Denon can do justice to my JBL's, which I'm pretty sure it can, I'll stick with that.

2. Speakers:
a. Mains = JBL LC2
b. Center = JBL LC2
c. Surrounds = JBL L820
d. Rear Surrounds = JBL L820
e. Subwoofer = State-of-the-Art😉

3. 160" Acoustically Transparent Screen = SeymourAV. I still might go cinescope I just won't know 100% till I get the projector and fire it up. I'm only leaning toward 16:9 because it'll be 50% for gaming, 30% TV watching, and 20% movies. We'll see I guess.

4. Projector = I'm leaning toward the Panny AE8000 because Epson is known for having too much lag for gaming. I'm once again not 100%, but I'm leaning heavily toward this one.

5. Lighting control = To Be Determined

6. HTPC:
a. Case = nMedia PC 2000B
b. Power Supply = Corsair HX750
c. CPU = To Be Determined
d. CPU cooling = Noctua NH-C14
e. Mobo = To Be Determined
f. RAM = 16gb G. Skill
g. SSD = Kingston HyperX 3K 240gb