Final LV wiring sanity check... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I'm wrapping up my wiriing and wanted to just run a quick sanity check by the group to make sure I've caught everything before my drywallers seal everything up. In addition to conduit to my front, rear and PJ locations, here's what I've got "naked":

  • 2 runs each to Front Left, Center, Front Right - Probably won't bi-wire or bi-amp, so I can use extra runs for other channels if I want to go more than 7.
  • 1 run each to Side right and left, and Rear right and left.
  • 1 run RG6 to each corner for possible Sub placement
  • 1 HDMI from closet to PJ
  • 1 run Component cables (3 RG6) from closet to PJ - for legacy connections
  • 2 runs Cat6 from closet to front - for IR and Wii bar and future expansion
  • 1 run Cat6 from closet to PJ

While I've got the ceiling and walls open, anything else I should throw in?

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 01:23 PM
Member
 
jjslegacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I would do a few more runs of Cat6 to the PJ for future proofing if needed. (hdmi over cat6 etc)

JJ
jjslegacy is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 184
If the conduit is big enough for HMDI cables, you're probably OK. I would consider a redundant HDMI cable - have you checked the cables (especially HDMI) to ensure they work with your stuff? Wouldn't want to have broken cables before you even start.

Edit - I am planning for more than 4 sub locations myself.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 04:32 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 531
A couple of the builds I've worked on had conduits to the front of the riser to connect whatever laptop or gaming device that might come along that the owners might want to hardwire to the equipment stack.
Thermostat for theater zone?
Wire for security device
Smoke alarm
The last project had a Cat6 wire to the light switch box to connect the Creston Master unit to the Creston light control.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Here is my LV diagram that's in my thread.

wiringplans-1.jpg

Few others i saved.

Mcascio

Wiring--Electric-Plan.jpg

Other

Visio-Wiring-Design.jpg

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"


Current Theater Build
 

New House Build

 

cdika17 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-08-2012, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Looks good - you covered all the things I wired for or cared about. Only input I'd have is put a switch height cat5, buried near the entrance, for a future control panel or dock. And maybe one more Cat6 to the front so you have two for any future 120" flat panel. smile.gif.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-09-2012, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

A couple of the builds I've worked on had conduits to the front of the riser to connect whatever laptop or gaming device that might come along that the owners might want to hardwire to the equipment stack.
Thermostat for theater zone?
Wire for security device
Smoke alarm
The last project had a Cat6 wire to the light switch box to connect the Creston Master unit to the Creston light control.
Thanks for all the input.

I had gone to the trouble of wiring comp., cat5, and hdmi to the front of the riser in my first theater and never used them, so I'm going to pass on those this time around. Will probably run a couple more Cat6 per the suggestions even though I know most things are going wi-fi.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-09-2012, 10:56 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Just when you don't wire the riser, Play Station 5 will have some feature that will make you wish you did.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-10-2012, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
wraunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Maybe I'm missing something. Why would you want conduit and wire to the riser to help future proof? Who would want their PS5 on the riser for example? I would think that would sit in the rack.
wraunch is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-10-2012, 11:06 AM
Member
 
jjslegacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wraunch View Post

Maybe I'm missing something. Why would you want conduit and wire to the riser to help future proof? Who would want their PS5 on the riser for example? I would think that would sit in the rack.

You never now with new technology but I suppose the more common application is an HDMI cable or something to the riser so you could run a laptop or other device. If you can add the conduit I say why not - much easier than ripping walls apart later

JJ
jjslegacy is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-10-2012, 11:14 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,490
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by wraunch View Post

Maybe I'm missing something. Why would you want conduit and wire to the riser to help future proof? Who would want their PS5 on the riser for example? I would think that would sit in the rack.

I'm not talking about a game system, I'm thinking about laptops and other handhelds. Also corded game controllers. Granted that most things are wireless but for pure speed you may want a hard connection. Perhaps you will want to play some 4K videos from your 5th generation Ipad on the big screen and still have the Ipad in your lap.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-10-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

I'm not talking about a game system, I'm thinking about laptops and other handhelds. Also corded game controllers. Granted that most things are wireless but for pure speed you may want a hard connection. Perhaps you will want to play some 4K videos from your 5th generation Ipad on the big screen and still have the Ipad in your lap.

I think it depends a lot on the kind of person you are. I used an HDMI connection in my riser for a laptop before. Now that I have an HTPC I don't necessarily need to do it. But I have done it. I also had a USB wired to the riser before in order to use a wired controler to a console before. You don't even have to run wires, just having the conduit there so you CAN do it some day is very useful. There are so many places in my house I wish I had conduit to for new wires. It's not like it is expensive or that time consuming to do.
damelon is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-10-2012, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

I'm not talking about a game system, I'm thinking about laptops and other handhelds. Also corded game controllers. Granted that most things are wireless but for pure speed you may want a hard connection. Perhaps you will want to play some 4K videos from your 5th generation Ipad on the big screen and still have the Ipad in your lap.
Actually, I'm going to add a couple extra outlets to the front of the riser for game controllers. Don't need to hardwire them back the game system, but they always need charging. smile.gif As for iPad or whatever, you should really looking to AirPlay or DLNA streaming - it's pretty amazing what these little guys can do wirelessly. As for plain old conduit to the riser - I'll see if I have room. I have an LVL that I have to go around and the hole for the first conduit was just big enough for the one. Perhaps I can tie into that one somehow.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off