Installing hdmi provision - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fekish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
We are building our home now. Is there a way to put through hdmi wire at a later stage, as we do with audio wire? I mean just to install plastic provisional pipes at this time.

i am thinking that because of its thickness we won't be able to do it, and also i dont know even if is possible to connect the hdmi connector at corners of wire, since the wire wont go through the pipe if is not just wire.

Thanks!

Sent from my XT910 using Tapatalk 2
fekish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 05:05 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,082
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 681
Use 1 1/2 to 2 inch diameter electrical conduit. Either rigid PVC (Gray) or flexible (Orange). You install a run from where you equipment will be located to the projector location. It is done all the time.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fekish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool thanks,

And i would be able to put later normal hdmi cable? Or hdmi cable without the heads on each side and then bring a pro to connect?

Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk
fekish is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 09:24 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,082
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 681
normal HDMI cable, be sure to use the sweeping curves they sell with the conduit.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fekish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! This literally made my day! So important thing is for the cable to turn at corners without a problem... got it.

2 inch would take too much space from a wall? Would builders have a problem with it?

Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk
fekish is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-15-2012, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
2 inch would take too much space from a wall? Would builders have a problem with it?
Shouldn't be a problem. They put 1.5" and 2" drain pipes in walls all the time.
olyteddy is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-16-2012, 05:04 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,082
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 681
Just be sure they don't use corner fittings intended for plumbing pipe.

If they use rigid conduit you want a fitting from this picture:

E_RigidConduit_Fittings.jpg?n=3943
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-16-2012, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fekish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great thanks

Sent from my NookColor using Tapatalk
fekish is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off