I'm baaack! This time with a new project! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 11-05-2012, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So we bought a house January 2012 and I've finally convinced the "boss" to let me finish the basement and build my dedicated HT/Gaming room! So the allowable space I have is basically half my basement but I need to leave storage space as well since the other half will be the family/rec room with a bar and exercise equipment.

I have the skills and knowledge to design and draft it all using AutoCAD as well as SketchUp for quick renderings (I'm a Project Manager at an architecture firm). I'll also be DIYing the entire build with the help of my dad who is a residential contractor.

A couple of years ago I had designed an entire house including a full designed dedicated HT but our plans changed and we didn't build that house. We ended up buying a house my dad had built and the HT wasn't included in the build at the time...

I've been slowly buying 2x4's and stock piling them knowing I'd eventually get to finishing the basement. And last week woot.com was having a deal on the Pioneer Elite series in-wall speakers so I got four of the S-IW671-LR CST's for the mains and rears and a S-IW571L CST for the center. I have a Yamaha HTR-6130 receiver. I've been researching a lot about IB configurations and REALLY want to go with a couple of 18" subs with the rear chamber in the storage space adjacent to the theater; more on this later.