Help with hiding all my A/V equipment - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mgp32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought my first house about a year ago and plan to finish my basment sometime in the near future. I plan to mount a 60"+ LED TV on the wall and run all my a/v lines to the utility room where I will have my A/V equipment. (I also might do a projector but not sure yet) I will have a dirctv receiver, PS3 and Home theatre receiver. My question is, how would I control these decives from the family room since they are all hidden. Im already running my Directv receiver upstairs on R/F since its hidden in the closet so I probably can't do that with this one since they will most likely interfere. I'm new to all this and any help would be appreciated.

thanks
mgp32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 356
The DirecTV RF remotes are "paired" with the receiver - you can use more than one with no problems...

If you put the whole stack in one location, you can use an HDMI-over-cat5e extender with IR repeating to handle this. I'd recommend the HDBaseT technology to do this, and Monoprice has a great little unit which includes IR repeating as well as Ethernet in the mix:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=8123&seq=1&format=2

Also, spend some time reading in the 'Home A/V Disttribution" forum a few down from here, where this topic is common...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
dirtydiesel55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the exact same setup... Search logitech RF remotes (Logitech's Harmony 890), they do have more advanced models but they are awesome!
dirtydiesel55 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mgp32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses so far. I have one question though, why would I need to hook up cat5? Can anyone show me a wiaring diagram?

Thanks again...
mgp32 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
secondhander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Pretty much what's been said here. In general you would use either an IR repeater kit or an RF remote.
secondhander is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
dirtydiesel55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did try an ir repeater first, that being said my lighting in my theater badly affected it when i tried using my remotes, it was a pain. Bought the logitech remote it worked flawlessly.. (Not saying that you would have the same problem, but just throwing it out there)....
dirtydiesel55 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
randy98mtu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a pair of Harmony 900 remotes for my basement. One for my theater, one for the living room. They work quite well. A little lag sometimes, but overall very good. The lag was noticed when adjusting the volume on my Denon. I moves very slowly 1 touch at a time. But if you hold it down, the lag could bite you and take the volume too high. It's a bit of a balancing act.
randy98mtu is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-20-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mgp32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or in other words, just buy a harmony remote and it should be able to control my future a/v receiver and directv without interfering with my upstairs directv thats using RF? It sounds like I shouldnt have to worry about my ps3 since its bluetooth and will only be about 15 feet away and only traveling through one wall.

Does that sound right?

Thanks
mgp32 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-21-2012, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
dirtydiesel55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two rf direct tv remotes in my house and the logitech remote, there is no interference with the logitech remote.
dirtydiesel55 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off