Riser Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-30-2012, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hello all.

I followed something similar to the way BIGmouthinDC showed in his riser construction (thank you sir!) but now I've read too far into other threads and being a noob I've gone and confused myself.

These are 2x12s, do I need a gap under the joists? I was going to use 2x10s or something like the other thread showed but I thought that was just for saving a few bucks and since the price was basically the same I kept it simple and used only 2x12s but now I worry if I should have space under the joists for air to flow? Maybe this only matters if I plan to use it as a bass trap?

That's where I really got over my head, the bass trap. The sub(s) will not go directly on the riser, I don't have the sub yet so I don't really know what the bass sounds like in there just yet. I have everything else but my sub isn't that great so want to get a new one. Is it a good idea to go ahead and drill the holes on the wall facing boards on the riser or is this something that must be tuned to how the bass works out in the room? Carpet will be going over this and I'm not doing the carpet but I'd assume with this pushed up 1/4 inch from the walls in the corner that they won't carpet those sides facing the wall so those holes would then be uncovered. Part of me wants to just insulate this riser and put the top on but I don't want to regret skipping something.

Another question, I already had carpet padding down from the previous carpet. Is this good to go between the floor and the riser or should I use 30# roofing felt. I have that on hand but wasn't sure if one would be better than the other here. Seems like both serve it's purpose for moisture but didn't want to leave the pad under there if it's going to have a negative affect with sound that I'm clueless on.