Thought Process when laying down the HT Equipment Wiring - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2012, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The way I'm building my HT is that all my cabling are going to be run int the soffit and I was thinking what is your thought process on this. Do you run one pipe in all of the soffit? I'm just trying to be ready when it comes to wiring.
amb1s1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2012, 07:03 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,501
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 738
A floor plan showing the layout of your space and location of the equipment would be useful to advise you on where you might need/want conduit.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 12-20-2012, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Here is the sketch. I would be building the room first only wiring the wiring for the sconce lights and outlet boxes and switch. The rest I will be in the soffit that I'm will be building after I do the room. Thanks
amb1s1 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 11:08 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,501
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 738
If I was building for myself. Put a LARGE straight conduit down the right side inside the soffit from the equipment rack to somewhere behind the screen wall. All your speaker and sub signal wires can go in that and you can add and subtract in the future. Run a conduit to the projector location. Run the speaker wire for the surrounds inside the soffit tacked to something or in the walls poking through small holes in the drywall which you seal around the wire. If you go the soffit route make sure you will have columns for the speakers to bring the wires down inside.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 12-20-2012, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of conduit? Since the column on the left will be hidding a pole, I don't think I will be putting my speaker in the column. I'm still thinking about the column because I'm just building one column on the left and right. Don't know if I would be able to install my inside the wall speaker in the columns.
amb1s1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 05:47 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,501
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 738
There is no rule on the width of columns, design something that is wide enough for the pole and the speaker.

On conduit you can use the gray 2 inch PVC conduit they sell at HD/L if you have turns use the sweeping curves not plumbing curves.
Or you can buy some of the Carlon Resiguard smurf tube conduit, It comes in larges sizes but you need to go to an electrical supplier and it will be more expensive. There are pictures of both conduits in my build threads.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 12-21-2012, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seeping curves, I did a search on Home Depot and I could not found a result. I'm going to look into your builds.
amb1s1 is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 37
LeBon is online now  
Old 12-22-2012, 06:03 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,501
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by amb1s1 View Post

Sweeping curves, I did a search on Home Depot and I could not found a result.

Do a search AT home depot not on it. Once you find the grey conduit these will be on the shelf within 5 ft.

BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, you are the man
amb1s1 is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amb1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought wall plates for all my audio and video connection, so the conduit go down the wall behind the rack? Does th conduit connect to the electrical boxes?
amb1s1 is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:34 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,501
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 738
If it was my theater I would return all the plates and just have the conduit dump out into the space behind the rack, either down from the ceiling or out from the wall. Take all the cords and wires directly to the gear and eliminate the connection points for the plates which can corrode over time and degrade the signals.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off