Rack Cooling Hardware questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Not sure this is the right place for this question but... Is there a device designed to use the 12v trip signal from a component (Amp) to energize 120vac sockets to power equipment that doesn't have a trip signal input? I could make this, and thought it wouldn't be hard to find one that was already on the market, but I guess I just haven't come up with the right search terms yet.
Bullitt5094 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Any 12V relay will do what your asking.

You need to make sure the relay Coil voltage is 12V and that the Contact voltage is rated for the current your gonna pull through it.

I wired up a relay internal to my sub amp(Pro Amp) b/c it didn't have a 12V trigger.

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
As first stated, "I could make this". I have a 12v relay in the garage and could buy a power strip and insert the relay into the box. But don't want to mess with it if someone sells a neat, tidy pre-built solution.
Bullitt5094 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Oh my bad. Didnt understand that part.

Most decent power conditioners have a trigger input, that might work. Mine had a delayed bank and i plugged in the fans to that bank.

Also look up smart strips which detect current draw through a single outlet and turn on the rest.

I also recently saw some complete relay hobby boards on ebay for like <$20 in case your interested.

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I may go the power conditioner route if I can find a relatively cheap one. Don't need a suppressor/conditioner because I already have a brick protecting the componets. The smart power thing could work but I really don't want to plug may amp into what seems to be low-end power strips. But thanks for that info! Still wonder why someone doesn't make a strip that would just accept the 12v signal and turn on. Seems like a simple and useful configuration. May have to do one myself yet.
Bullitt5094 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here ya go, and from Walmart yet. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Xantech-Ac1-Controlled-Ac-Outlet/16954449

Having the right words to search by really helps. "trigger power outlet". Niles also makes a couple of them.

Again, thanks for the input!
Bullitt5094 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off