Newbie Questions on in-wall Racks — with Thanks! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-31-2013, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Folks,

I'm doing a bit of a living/media room remodel, and am looking to try and get my equipment out of a hulking Salamander rack and into the wall where it belongs. wink.gif However, I'm not very familiar with the racks, and had a few questions to make sure I'm going in the right direction.

First, I'm aiming for something very similar to what Max Lomax did in this post. I'll try to post the picture below:

The key elements I like about this are that the rack is embedded in the wall, "starts" a few feet off the ground, and has a really nice seamless look, with plates to cover all sort of components, including the oddly-shaped ones like the video game consoles. I work as a digital entertainment consultant, and have way too many of these little gaming boxes around, and am hoping to get them all cleaned up into a solution that I can tweak and modify well into the future as needed. smile.gif

The only thing missing from this example picture is a closing door, which is something I might like to have (not 100% decided).

I will be installing this into a wall where I can likely get rear access. So, running power should be relatively easy, and I don't think I need any sort of sliding or pivoting rack.

That leads me to my questions — with thanks in advance to anything any of you can share!

First, based on this article, I'm leaning toward the Sanus Component Series CFR2136 rack. I'm curious if anyone has had any experience with this rack, or can imagine any issues with the way I'd hope to install and use it? Related, would this rack work with and without a door, if I wanted to change my mind and go one way or another?