Texas DIY Theater Room HELP!!!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 02-07-2013, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Forum Members.

I must first start off by saying that I am new to the world of forums and theater rooms. With that said any help that you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated.

So I have recently built a new home that has a dedicated theater room (12'X17') which is upstairs and above the master bathroom.Nothing special was done to the room for sound proofing but insulation is in the walls. I've painting the walls a dark burgundy, built a riser (6'x9x6") for the second row seating, added a door and purchased seating. Now as far as a projector I am thinking about going with the Epson 3020 due to my budget and I am not sure on a decent Surround System (Speakers, AV Receiver).

I have been looking at floor standing/in-wall systems and I need some type of help on what would be best for the room. Ive heard that in-wall speakers causes sound to travel throughout the walls into other rooms and that is not cool.

Also I am thinking about building my own screen 120" with blackout fabric instead of buying the elite screen. Would the DIY Screen be a good choice and would it provide me with the same quality movies as the Elite Screen. Someone suggested buying a Jamestown screen and im curious if anyone else have experience with this screen.

My remaining budget
Projector & Screen $1500
Audio and Wires $1000

Once again this is all new to me and the researching is getting overwhelming.

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-07-2013, 10:12 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10