Need to find a box to wall mount a network switch in and having no luck... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Unacceptable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I don't know what to search for and Im having no luck with Google. Apparently "enclosure" is even more generic of a term than I expected so Im leaning on you all for a slight distraction.

I'm setting up cameras on my eaves so I figured I'd run everything to an upstairs closet like the alarm companies do and then run a single cat6 down to the basement rather than running them all to the basement individually.

Anyway, what is the name of the box that would hold a switch (10" x 8" x 1") and preferably have a 110 outlet in it that I could wire up? I've seen them before but my Google-Fu is failing me.

Thanks!
Unacceptable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 47
"Structured Wiring Enclosure"

Tim
Mr.Tim is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Try "structured media enclosure"

Edit: Tim beat me to it.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Unacceptable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
THANK YOU!

That's exactly what I was missing.... "structured wiring". I won't admit to how many hours I've been searching in vain. wink.gif
Unacceptable is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I like Channel Vision enclosures. I bought mine from AutomatedOutlet.com and SetNetPro.com.

Leviton from Home Depot, OnQ from Lowes, if you want to buy local.

Plastic enclosure if you need any wireless.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-17-2013, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Lots of enclosure tips over at the cocoontech.com forums. Search "enclosure".

I got this tip over at cocoontech - I used the Channel Vision Large Universal Product hold to mount my switch in an enclosure.

http://cocoontech.com/forums/topic/22419-mount-switch-inside-structured-media-cabinet/

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-17-2013, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Unacceptable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Great info. Thanks!

The only part I haven't quite grasped yet is the power supply. If I mount it IN the wall I see where you can mount the 110v outlet on the bottom side of the box but if you mount it ON the wall, where does the outlet go? Can't imagine it's code-compliant having a junction box dangling off the bottom on the upside of the drywall.

That make sense?
Unacceptable is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-17-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 172
I think most of them only have top and bottom knockouts, so you need an explicit surface mount design. Maybe this one would work?
http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/SectionDisplay.jsp?section=42388&minisite=10251
It has a plywood back, which I think you could cut for a box.
HopefulFred is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-17-2013, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 76
The electrical knockout on the bottom accommodates a junction box outside the enclosure - screw holes to attach it before you drop in the outlet.

Again, use a plastic enclosure if you have any wireless devices inside. Or switch to external WAPs. Or use a top knockout for the antenna.

I highly recommend a whole house surge protector at the service entrance (e.g. Eaton Cutler-Hammer, Leviton, many others) but an outlet SPD (e.g. Leviton 8280) might be a consideration, if you don't have a nearby UPS that you can use with a 'power bridge'.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off