Convert recessed light to power outlet for projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-24-2013, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigSlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I just installed my projector and I have a temprory set up running a power cord along the ceiling and down the wall to an outlet, but I have a recessed light that is within 6" of my projector and I was wondering if converting this recessed light into an outlet would be a wise move. The outlet would I think only be active if I have the lights on, so I'm not sure if this is a wise move. I'm not sure if this would cause any issues with the projector losing power every time the lights are turned off. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
BigSlade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-24-2013, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdanforth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSlade View Post

Hi all, I just installed my projector and I have a temprory set up running a power cord along the ceiling and down the wall to an outlet, but I have a recessed light that is within 6" of my projector and I was wondering if converting this recessed light into an outlet would be a wise move. The outlet would I think only be active if I have the lights on, so I'm not sure if this is a wise move. I'm not sure if this would cause any issues with the projector losing power every time the lights are turned off. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

You don't want to have the projector on a switched outlet. Projectors need to have standby power so that they can cool the lamp after you power it down. If the lamp doesn't cool down properly its lifespan is drastically reduced.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdanforth is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-24-2013, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigSlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figued that, but thank you for the confirmation. Guess I go to plan B.
BigSlade is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-25-2013, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
calimark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are u sure that the light doesnt have an unswitched line next to it?
calimark is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-25-2013, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigSlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I'm not sure if it does. How would one identify if it does or does not?
BigSlade is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-25-2013, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
calimark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turn off the power(breaker), pull it(the light) and look. Red/Black/White would indicate it has 2 live lines, one switched
calimark is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off