The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #271 of 323 Unread 12-02-2014, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Bean bag chairs could work and "store" in the kids' rooms.


(Years ago, we gave the nieces and nephews bean bag chairs for Christmas. Went over huge!)
Tedd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 323 Unread 12-06-2014, 11:06 PM
Member
 
P007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Current state of my theater:


ROOM: 17x16x10

ACOUSTICS:
DIY acoustic panels Staggered (side walls)
DIY acoustic panels (rear wall)

VIDEO:
Epson 5020UB (cinema mode)
Seymour Center Stage XD 150" 2.35 scope screen acoustically transparent
DirecTV HD DVR
Popcornhour A-400
Samsung Bluray player (older model)

VIDEO PROCESSING:
Lumagen Radiance XD
Darbee Darblet

AVR:
Denon 4520CI

AUDIO:
MiniDSP

AMPS:
Emotiva XPA3 (fronts and center)
Emotiva LPA7 (surrounds)
Behringer inuke 3000dsp (x2)
SpeakerPower SP1-4000 (JTR S2)

SPEAKERS:
Definitive Technology UIW RLSIII (LCR x3)
Klipsch Synergy S2 (surrounds x4)
HTD HD-65AIM (wides and heights x4)

SUBS:
JTR Captivator S2
DIY Infinity 1260W 1.5 ft^3 (X8)


MEDIA SERVER:
FlexRAID server (media streaming)

Protection:
Panamax M5300-PM
Panamax M5300-EX
Cyber Power UPS

SEATING:
Coaster Pavilion 4 seat set

MISC:
Roomie Remote (iPad mini)
Niles IR repeater
Global Cache' IP to IR module
Emotiva trigger expansion
Middle Atlantic slim5 rack and custom faceplates
Insteon remote controlled dimmer
Temperature controlled A/V closet













I love your room, I do have a question. Is your screen covering a window, and if so how did you mount your on walls? I am in the process of building my room. The size is 20'x17' and the wall my screen is going to go on has a window and I trying to get ideas on how to do my set up because I want to go with an AT screen. The speakers I am using are the Niles Pro 2870 lcr, they are cabinet speakers, not on walls. I would like to do a minimalist false wall and I was wondering if you used that approach.
P007 is offline  
post #273 of 323 Unread 12-07-2014, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by P007 View Post
I love your room, I do have a question. Is your screen covering a window, and if so how did you mount your on walls? I am in the process of building my room. The size is 20'x17' and the wall my screen is going to go on has a window and I trying to get ideas on how to do my set up because I want to go with an AT screen. The speakers I am using are the Niles Pro 2870 lcr, they are cabinet speakers, not on walls. I would like to do a minimalist false wall and I was wondering if you used that approach.

Thanks! I do not have on wall speakers, I have in wall speakers. I also have windows as well and the screen wall is the front of my house. What I did was, I left the blinds in the window so that the front of the house would look normal. Took of the window sill and blinds cover at the top of the blinds for more space. I covered the window with rigid fiberglass and then plywood on top. I wish that I had a false wall, but I didn't want to loose any space in the room since it is only 17' long. I was barely able to fit the in-wall speakers because of the windows and the way the structure of the house was built. I checked at least five times before I started cutting out the big spaces for my speakers. This is why I went with the Deftechs UIW RLS II's. After I installed my speakers, I left the grills off of them because I didn't want to paint them, and instead I covered the entire area with the same acoustic material on my panels. This way, when the screen is mounted, I would not have any reflections from the wall or the speakers.

The two small windows are the screen wall. I did the same for the windows on the side wall. Looking at this picture makes me think that the room looks really small.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	518
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	406682  
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #274 of 323 Unread 12-07-2014, 06:52 PM
Member
 
P007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Thanks! I do not have on wall speakers, I have in wall speakers. I also have windows as well and the screen wall is the front of my house. What I did was, I left the blinds in the window so that the front of the house would look normal. Took of the window sill and blinds cover at the top of the blinds for more space. I covered the window with rigid fiberglass and then plywood on top. I wish that I had a false wall, but I didn't want to loose any space in the room since it is only 17' long. I was barely able to fit the in-wall speakers because of the windows and the way the structure of the house was built. I checked at least five times before I started cutting out the big spaces for my speakers. This is why I went with the Deftechs UIW RLS II's. After I installed my speakers, I left the grills off of them because I didn't want to paint them, and instead I covered the entire area with the same acoustic material on my panels. This way, when the screen is mounted, I would not have any reflections from the wall or the speakers.

The two small windows are the screen wall. I did the same for the windows on the side wall. Looking at this picture makes me think that the room looks really small.

My bad, I met to say in walls. Your room is similar to mine, but I don't have side windows. I have 3 big windows on the back wall. I actually wanted to put my screen on the front wall but when my house was built the builder put an air vent on the front wall. That had to be a modification because on the blueprints the vent was on the side wall, so I have 2 air vents in my room. So since that vent was on the front wall I decided I had to go with the screen on the back wall. I wish I would have know this ahead of time when I was getting the house built and I would have had the builder not do windows on the back wall, and since it is in back of my house I don't think that would have been an issue. I actually wanted to do in walls, and then I contemplated towers. I went with the Niles because I got a good deal on them. I may try something similar to what you did. What do you suggest? By the way, sorry about your Eagles today I was pulling for you guys today. I am a Redskins fan so my team has sucked for years. The last time my team was good was when I was in high school and we won the Superbowl. Beat those damn Cowboys next week, and any suggestions you have for my room I'll greatly appreciate it. Thanks again.


Percy
P007 is offline  
post #275 of 323 Unread 12-08-2014, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by P007 View Post
My bad, I met to say in walls. Your room is similar to mine, but I don't have side windows. I have 3 big windows on the back wall. I actually wanted to put my screen on the front wall but when my house was built the builder put an air vent on the front wall. That had to be a modification because on the blueprints the vent was on the side wall, so I have 2 air vents in my room. So since that vent was on the front wall I decided I had to go with the screen on the back wall. I wish I would have know this ahead of time when I was getting the house built and I would have had the builder not do windows on the back wall, and since it is in back of my house I don't think that would have been an issue. I actually wanted to do in walls, and then I contemplated towers. I went with the Niles because I got a good deal on them. I may try something similar to what you did. What do you suggest? By the way, sorry about your Eagles today I was pulling for you guys today. I am a Redskins fan so my team has sucked for years. The last time my team was good was when I was in high school and we won the Superbowl. Beat those damn Cowboys next week, and any suggestions you have for my room I'll greatly appreciate it. Thanks again.

Percy
Yea the Eagles didn't look good yesterday. Chip Kelly has a hard time against good defenses. Kinda disappointing.

If you have room for a false wall I would do that. This way you don't have to worry about your windows. Can you just move the return vent to the ceiling? If you can, you can put the room the way you want it. Moving air vents is not that hard. I installed two of them in my AV closet and the hardest part was dealing with the heat in the attic.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #276 of 323 Unread 12-08-2014, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
kmhvball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 53
This may have been asked elsewhere, but do you ever have any reflection type issues with your light colored carpet? I think it really helps make the room look a little more balanced vs all black, but wondered if you have any reflection issues.

Thanks,
Kevin
kmhvball is online now  
post #277 of 323 Unread 12-08-2014, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Hey Kevin, The floor is definitely brighter than the rest of the room, but I never notice it during the movies. When I am reclining in my chair, you can even see the carpet. I agree with you about not having it black, but when I replace the carpet, I might use a gray color. Adding the panels on the wall made a huge difference. My ceiling is painted black just like my walls use to be and there is more reflection on the black paint than the panels. I was actually looking at that yesterday during commercials for the Eagles game.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #278 of 323 Unread 12-08-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
P007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Yea the Eagles didn't look good yesterday. Chip Kelly has a hard time against good defenses. Kinda disappointing.

If you have room for a false wall I would do that. This way you don't have to worry about your windows. Can you just move the return vent to the ceiling? If you can, you can put the room the way you want it. Moving air vents is not that hard. I installed two of them in my AV closet and the hardest part was dealing with the heat in the attic.
I would say Chip Kelly struggles against good defenses. I just think he didn't call a good game and scheme right. Also, I thought that pass interference was a bad call. It set Seattle up to go up by 10, also Jenkins should have had a pick 6. Even though Seattle dominated time of possession and yards Philly was right in there. Philly has a very good underrated defense.

You know, I wish I would have thought of having the vent moved when I had the house built but hindsight is 20, 20. The room is already prewired and set up to put the screen on the wall with the windows. I will go with a false wall, using a minimalist set up. I just wish I was little more handy. How hard was it making those panels?

Percy
P007 is offline  
post #279 of 323 Unread 12-08-2014, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
It's not hard at all. Just time consuming! Very tedious! You would be surprised at how handy you can become when you try things. You can do it, and when I attempted things for the first time (cutting a hole in my wall to install the rack) I always told my self that it can be fixed if I mess up. I am actually cooking up a new project for my theater right now and when I am done with my plans I will post about it.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #280 of 323 Unread 12-18-2014, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
The past few days I have been working a few minutes on running more circuits to my AV closet. I added three 20A lines and one 30A line. Even though all of the outlets are 20A I will just put a 20A breaker on the 30A line until I find out what outlet I am going to use. The reason I am doing this is because I ran out of power and my inuke amps are being choked out by one of my Panamax line conditioners. I am also really considering adding even more bass for some reason I can't explain. Trying to convince the wife why I need more is another challenge I need to address as well. Shouldn't be too bad though, just need a good reason.





While I was running more electrical lines I had to move four of my subs out of the way. So I stacked them in the corner just to see what it would look like. Other than having chrome drivers, it doesn't look too bad. That corner is a good spot for subs too as I have had different subs there in the past and it sounded great.



I just like to have all speakers hidden and my surround speakers are about to be hidden too. If I did decide to put subs in the front corner they would have to be normal looking and maybe I could build an acoustically transparent wall in front of them. Either way, these new circuits will take care of more amps and future plans I have coming up. This has been a long time coming!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0290.jpg
Views:	375
Size:	191.6 KB
ID:	429841   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0289.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	429849   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0288.jpg
Views:	377
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	429857   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0287.jpg
Views:	376
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	429865  

Last edited by Pain Infliction; 12-18-2014 at 05:35 PM.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #281 of 323 Unread 12-18-2014, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Yeah. I feel like I need to add another 20amp to my closet. We will be waiting for your big changes
7channelfreak is offline  
post #282 of 323 Unread 12-27-2014, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Here is some home made triggered outlets for my inuke amps. There is a solid state relay inside the box. I just finished putting it together and tested. Works like a charm!




Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0359.jpg
Views:	342
Size:	165.9 KB
ID:	444274   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0360.jpg
Views:	341
Size:	166.9 KB
ID:	444282  
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #283 of 323 Unread 12-27-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Here is some home made triggered outlets for my inuke amps. There is a solid state relay inside the box. I just finished putting it together and tested. Works like a charm!




That's cool! Where can I see a link to the relay - and how its assembled? I would really like to do something like this as a few of my amps do not have triggers.

Awesome!
kinw3 likes this.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #284 of 323 Unread 12-27-2014, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
That's cool! Where can I see a link to the relay - and how its assembled? I would really like to do something like this as a few of my amps do not have triggers.

Awesome!

I have made them before, but just not this way. I saw a thread that @notnyt made and thought that his way was better. You can see it here Automatically Powering on Pro Amps via Relay (guide w/ pics)

He has pictures as well to show how he did it. I did a couple of thing different but basically the same thing.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #285 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
I have made them before, but just not this way. I saw a thread that @notnyt made and thought that his way was better. You can see it here Automatically Powering on Pro Amps via Relay (guide w/ pics)

He has pictures as well to show how he did it. I did a couple of thing different but basically the same thing.
That is a 30 amp relay you're using? I would really like to do something like that. The example thread looks to be a 20 amp model relay? I'm not sure of the coding but where could I find a 30 amp relay- if not, likely a 20 amp would work. Nice job!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009

Last edited by thebland; 12-28-2014 at 09:26 AM.
thebland is online now  
post #286 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Thanks! Yes it is a 20a relay. I have a 30a outlet just in case I need it one day, but my inukes don't need 30a. I have not looked for one, but if you do and can't find one, you could always use a contactor. The only issue with that you can hear them when they are activated. Automation direct has them for really good prices.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #287 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
That is a 30 amp relay you're using? I would really like to do something like that. The example thread looks to be a 20 amp model relay? I'm not sure of the coding but where could I find a 30 amp relay- if not, likely a 20 amp would work. Nice job!

Here is a 40a solid state relay that will work. http://www.zoro.com/i/G0829586/?category=9240

Kinda pricey but I had a hard time finding a 30a relay good for this application.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #288 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Here is a 40a solid state relay that will work. http://www.zoro.com/i/G0829586/?category=9240

Kinda pricey but I had a hard time finding a 30a relay good for this application.
Cool. Looks like this one piece will do a pair of outlets.

I may try and wire up. Is there a piece for the control pins that is included or how would you wire to the minijack?

What gauge wire did you use for wiring the hot? Solid or stranded? Thanks!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #289 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Cool. Looks like this one piece will do a pair of outlets.

I may try and wire up. Is there a piece for the control pins that is included or how would you wire to the minijack?

What gauge wire did you use for wiring the hot? Solid or stranded? Thanks!

I used a 3.5mm mono plug with 12' of wire for the 12v trigger from the avr. I bought it at radio shack for 3.99. You can get them cheaper, but I didn't want to wait for shipping. The tip if the 3.5mm jack is the + and below the tip is the -. If you have a multimer, set the dial to ohms and check for a short. Should be in between .01 to .03 ohms depending on your meter. Wire to the coil of the relay making sure not to cross polarity.

For the ac power side I used 12 guage stranded wire because it is better to crimp terminals on it than solid wire for the sake of making a good contact. Plus, stranded wire is waaaay better to work with IMO. If you are going with 30a, I would go up to 10 gauge wire just like you internal wire in your house should be. You could probably get away with 12 gauge wire because you will not be pulling a steady 30a all the time, but do it once do it right is my motto.

Let me know if you have any other questions.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #290 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Will do. What about the leads that are shown onto the relay you linked me to? Is there a connector for that?

I'll have to look closely at my multimeter. I'm not that familiar with testing such but when I het there I'll give you a shout.

thanks!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #291 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
No problem. Just give me a shout.

There are connectors for the 12vdc wire going to the coil but the wire is small and easy to solder so that is what I did.

For the load wires, there are connectors for that but you just need to buy the right size for what gauge wire you use. I will look after the game and send you a pm.

Last edited by Pain Infliction; 12-28-2014 at 01:01 PM.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #292 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Cool. Appreciate it.

Big game for us Lions fans.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #293 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Cool. Appreciate it.

Big game for us Lions fans.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #294 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Cool. Appreciate it.

Big game for us Lions fans.

Eagles won. 10-6 and missed the playoffs and a team under .500 gets to go. BS!

Anyway, I send you a pm and good luck playing the Packers today. Enjoy!
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #295 of 323 Unread 12-28-2014, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Will do. What about the leads that are shown onto the relay you linked me to? Is there a connector for that?

I'll have to look closely at my multimeter. I'm not that familiar with testing such but when I het there I'll give you a shout.

thanks!

Sorry I was not answering your question correctly. I must have been reading it too fast in between plays. I do not know of a connector for the pins on the coil that you are asking about. I am sure there is one, but you can just solder the wires onto them. Make sure you put some heat shrink over them in case a wire comes loose one day it will be better protected.
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #296 of 323 Unread 12-29-2014, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Stridulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey man! Theater is looking great. How ya been? I'm still stuck working on the downstairs of our house. Debating if I want to sound proof the theater room in the meantime.
Stridulent is online now  
post #297 of 323 Unread 12-29-2014, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Stridulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Also, how many lights did you put in your room? I'm thinking about 9 cans for ours but it might be too much. The carpet and walls will be dark.
Stridulent is online now  
post #298 of 323 Unread 12-29-2014, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridulent View Post
Hey man! Theater is looking great. How ya been? I'm still stuck working on the downstairs of our house. Debating if I want to sound proof the theater room in the meantime.
Hey Bud whats up? Thanks! Been busy at work trying to get stuff done by the end of the year. Just remember, if you sound proof, it is all out or nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridulent View Post
Also, how many lights did you put in your room? I'm thinking about 9 cans for ours but it might be too much. The carpet and walls will be dark.

I only have four lights in my theater. My carpet for the time being is light, but if it was dark, I might want to add a few more. It is plenty bright for now. Don't really need it that bright considering I watch everything in that dark.

When are you going to get started on your theater?
Pain Infliction is online now  
post #299 of 323 Unread 12-29-2014, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Stridulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
When are you going to get started on your theater?
As soon as I finish adding new trim to the downstairs and remodel the downstairs bathroom. Hopefully before it starts getting hot again since I'll have a substantial amount of work to do in the attic.
Stridulent is online now  
post #300 of 323 Unread 12-30-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,989
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Here is some home made triggered outlets for my inuke amps. There is a solid state relay inside the box. I just finished putting it together and tested. Works like a charm!




Great idea......which has me thinking. Can be a pain walking into room and forget about turning Peavey 7500 on.......besides, thinking of picking up another 7500 and having a trigger associated with processor........very handy.
doublewing11 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Tags
Behringer , Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor , Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver , diy , Emotiva , Epson 5020ub Powerlite Home Cinema 3d Front Projector , jtr captivator s2 , lumagen radiance , Popcorn Hour A 400 Network Media Jukebox , Yamaha Rx V667 Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off