Wiring my Home Theater - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-05-2013, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kuip64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I am in the process of finishing off my basement with a home theater. Nothing over the top but I am planning for surround sound, large TV, and a gaming system at a minimum. My TV will be centered on a wall and my AV equipment will be in a cabinent about 10 feet away. I am at the point now where I need to start wiring but I am a bit stuck on how to run power to my equipment. Should I put all of my AV equipment on one circut with multiple outlets? Multiple circuts? Should I hardwire in a surge protector in the back of my cabinent? If so, what kind? Or should I just plug a surge protector into one of my outlets? I just want to do it right. If you have any help or thoughts on what to do, please let me know. Thanks,
kuip64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-05-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48
If you don't have huge power amps or anything one circuit should be fine.

I used a power strip like this. Plenty of outlets and nice spacing. Forty bucks at the big orange box.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-05-2013, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kuip64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, but then you still dont have any surge protection, right?
kuip64 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-05-2013, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I used something like this to protect my wall mounted plasma:

http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5280-W-Suppressor-Receptacle-Industrial/dp/B0006I33Y6

Then just use a standard plug in surge suppressor for your cabinet.
Gerry S is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off