The retirement dream home theater - Page 14 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #391 of 407 Old 12-28-2014, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by granroth View Post
A few questions for you, Bill.

Did you end up putting duct liner in your duct boot/muffler like you did for the dead vent? Or did it remain just unadorned OSB?

Why did you put what looks like support boards in the corners of the duct boot? Why not just a plain box made of OSB?

Is the white gunk acoustic caulk or duct mastic?
I just didn't trust a OSB to OSB connection without reinforcement so the framing. Yes I used acoustical caulk. I never got around to doing duct liner but no noise to note. However I have yet to put the covers on which may change things.
cw5billwade is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Bill;
Your signature window plug link takes me to page 14 post 391, the last post http://www.avsforum.com/t/1468993/th...#post_23739998 , can you re-link it to the correct post?

I just added a door to my HT and now I'd like to apply a window plug to my AV rack back access panels.
(AV rack for HT is the bump by the sink area, those 2 access doors now need some plug in them.)


all walls are 2 x 6 offset stud except these are 2 x 4 stud for AV rack, so I've got some surface for plug to rest into/on
Yea - cable management also

Last edited by mtbdudex; 01-08-2015 at 11:06 AM.
mtbdudex is online now  
post #393 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
cw5billwade is online now  
post #394 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Bill;
Your signature window plug link takes me to page 14 post 391, the last post http://www.avsforum.com/t/1468993/th...#post_23739998 , can you re-link it to the correct post?
Ok try it now
mtbdudex likes this.
cw5billwade is online now  
post #395 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
granroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Putting any hard-coded page in a link will end up being problematic, since people can have different page view settings. I wrote up how to do this in several portable fashions HERE
granroth is offline  
post #396 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by granroth View Post
Putting any hard-coded page in a link will end up being problematic, since people can have different page view settings. I wrote up how to do this in several portable fashions HERE
Sory but evertime I read that my head hurts. What should my window plug be then?
cw5billwade is online now  
post #397 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
granroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Your best bet would be:

Code:
[ POST=23740019]Window plug[/POST]
But with no space between the bracket and POST (needed so it didn't self-format)
granroth is offline  
post #398 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by granroth View Post
Putting any hard-coded page in a link will end up being problematic, since people can have different page view settings. I wrote up how to do this in several portable fashions HERE
granroth - I've had hard coded links in my sig for years and they still work....
I've done both ways; just grab the URL and use that, or click on the post # and use that ....
Maybe it's when there is a link to some post in a thread and for whatever reason a post in that thread is deleted, then the link is broken/not pointing to correct location? anyway I'm not a web techie so beyond me, and I just read the posts by Bill (thx Bill again)
mtbdudex is online now  
post #399 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
granroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
granroth - I've had hard coded links in my sig for years and they still work....
I've done both ways; just grab the URL and use that, or click on the post # and use that ....
Maybe it's when there is a link to some post in a thread and for whatever reason a post in that thread is deleted, then the link is broken/not pointing to correct location? anyway I'm not a web techie so beyond me, and I just read the posts by Bill (thx Bill again)
Yep, looks like all of your links are either thread links (which tend to always work), links to the first post of a thread (also always works), or use the old-school style of post linking using avs-vb/showthread.php. That's one the reliable ways of linking to a specific post.

What I've found is that links to specific posts that use the new style URL, which include the page number after the thread name, are hit-and-miss. If you happen to have the same page settings as the person posting the link, then that'll always work. If you don't, then it'll sometimes work and sometimes not.

For instance, say I posted a link to your post like this:

Code:
www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/1468993-retirement-dream-home-theater-4.html#post30631578
If I go to that link without logging in, or with a different page view count other than 100 per page, then it'll show me a much earlier page than the right one. Sometimes it will switch to the right one and sometimes it will not. I can never predict in advance.

That's why I worked through the various ways of posting a link to a specific post, which actually work 100% of the time. It was incredibly frustrating.
granroth is offline  
post #400 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
So me viewing 30 posts per page effects my signature or if I do a table of contents for someone viewing 50 per page. I generally click the post number and copy that address
cw5billwade is online now  
post #401 of 407 Old 01-08-2015, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
granroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Yeah, the number of posts per page you have set definitely changes what the URL is going to be, which may not be valid for another person. What I typically do is this:

1. Do a 'Copy URL' on the post number
2. Write down [POST= and then paste the URL that I copied in step 2
3. Delete everything in the URL up to the last number. If it ends with #post283029329, then I'll be left with 283029329
4. Finish it off with ]Some Post Description[/POST]

That is, this:

Code:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/1468993-retirement-dream-home-theater-4.html#post30631578
quickly and easiliy becomes this:

Code:
[POST= 30631578]Some Post[/POST]
The bulletin software translates that to:

Code:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated-theater-design-construction/1468993-retirement-dream-home-theater-post30631578.html#post30631578
Which is also something you can transform the URL into, since it just requires removing the page number and moving the .html tag... but I still find the POST command the easiest.
granroth is offline  
post #402 of 407 Old 01-09-2015, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
cw5billwade is online now  
post #403 of 407 Old 01-09-2015, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
granroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Yes, post ids are globally unique for the site.
granroth is offline  
post #404 of 407 Old 01-09-2015, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
cw5billwade is online now  
post #405 of 407 Old 01-22-2015, 10:05 PM
Member
 
JohnstownFlood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central NY
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cw5billwade View Post

I used these 4" LED can disk light because it fits right into a 4” junction box no need for the extra cost of the can.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Commercia...5g2ZdnZ1z115g2
It also comes in 6” which fits in the 4" junction box as well
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Commercia...5g2ZdnZ1z115g2
I just posted about these! Good to see them in use. I've made it this far in your build, and I apologize if you address this later, but have you had any issues with being able to dim them the whole way?
JohnstownFlood is offline  
post #406 of 407 Old 01-23-2015, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnstownFlood View Post
I just posted about these! Good to see them in use. I've made it this far in your build, and I apologize if you address this later, but have you had any issues with being able to dim them the whole way?
they dim really good they are actualy Cree which most LEDs are any way. for now I have them on a manualy Lurtron dimmer and they dim down as low as the switch allows.
cw5billwade is online now  
post #407 of 407 Unread Today, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Follow up on screen being 2.0:1 with my screen being 126" wide that is just scope. My 16x9 image is only 116" wide I wanted to try something different for the super bowl so I tested last week on Avatar which is 16x9. Essentialy I just blew up the 16x9 image to fit the 2.40:1 image width. Since it is 2.0:1 screen what I had was a image 126" wide x 65" tall Image. There was about 4" of over scan into the velvet at the bottom of the screen. It was huge. a total of 142" of image on the screen. The game looked great that size.

This image was from my Samsung Galaxy S5 trust me the image and screen are square the trapeziod in the picture is due to how I was holding my phone.
Form front seat no zoom



that is 142" Dia in your face

Second row with sconce off

with sconce on low the Insteon dimmers are great with these LEDs I can dim to les than 10% before they turn off
cw5billwade is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off