Power cable management? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kromkamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 4,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just wondering - in a rack/enclosed space, what are best practices for keeping power cable routing clean and safe? Something tells me bundling them up tight could be a potential fire hazard.

Thanks
kromkamp is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
No, not a fire hazard.

But if you want clean, you can buy the right length IEC power cords, so they aren't bunched up.



http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_n_1?rh=n%3A597260%2Ck%3Aiec+power+cord&keywords=iec+power+cord&ie=UTF8&qid=1366988866&rnid=2941120011

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I run power cords vertically on one side of the rack, and signal/LV cables on the other. Most of my components have the power cable on the right side, when viewing from the back, so I run them on the right. Use 2 lacer bars for the component which has the power cable on the wrong side.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

I run power cords vertically on one side of the rack, and signal/LV cables on the other. Most of my components have the power cable on the right side, when viewing from the back, so I run them on the right. Use 2 lacer bars for the component which has the power cable on the wrong side.

That makes sense, I'm about to wire up my rack and that sounds like it will work well.

I have an MA ERK rack with rear door. How do I go about getting and attaching rear rails?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Done Deal DR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 82
doublepost


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Contemporary living room, Klipsch RF-7 II 5.2 audio, Sony VPL-HW50ES Projector, Da-Lite 16:9 159" HP, recessed Mid Atlantic rack, etc)
Done Deal DR is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 75
The neatest way is to get a vertical power strip mounted to rear rack rails and plug each component into that via short power cables.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kromkamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 4,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks for the advice. In general its difficult to get correct length power cables, since the equipment I use is a mix of 3 prong female, 2 prong female, coaxial DC with a brick, and coaxial DC with a wall wart. In some cases the cable is not even removable from the equipment.

Currently I am running power cables down one side, but again they are all bundled together and I'm a little concerned about that.

I'm kicking around the idea of the vertical power strip. One problem is I have the Middle Atlantic ASR rack (the pull out and rotate rack), its not exactly the same as a usual rack, I might have difficulty finding something that will fit it properly. The only one I found was this one:

http://www.cableorganizer.com/home-theater-system/slim-power-strips.htm
kromkamp is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off