MA Rack question - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 35 Old 05-07-2013, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,322
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post

Did you mount yours in the front or back of the rack? I should probably just go ahead and bite the bullet and get it. This HT project is costing me more and more every day!!!!!

Regardless of the model, all of those should be mounted to the front of the rack, as the outlets are on the rear of the unit.

The light bars are obviously for the front of the rack - but they also have USB-power ports on the back for a gooseneck LED worklamp (which comes in very handy).

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 35 Old 05-07-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

"Worth" is a strong word here. It's just a power strip, but in a very nice form factor. You can get a less-nice solution for less money.

I went the other direction - since I wanted a light for the rack, and needed a power strip, I used the MA light / strip. I went with the brushed decorator model, but this one is cheaper:

http://www.customavrack.com/products/946-middle-atlantic-pdlt-815rv-rn-lighting-and-power-distributor.aspx

There are similar alternatives - brands usually associated with music / PA racks vs. HT - that can be had for even less, like Furman and Gemini - I have a Gemini like this one in my music rack, has been working like a champ for years, picked it up used on eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GEMINI-PL-90-POWER-CONDITIONER-/151039659760?pt=US_Power_Conditioners&hash=item232aaa4ef0
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 05-11-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got my MA rack yesterday. Quick question. Does the PD-915 power strip just connect to the rack using the screws on the front or do I need a shelf for it? Wasn't any instructions with it.
Chad711 is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 05-11-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 37
The PD-915 mounts to the rack rails (front or rear) with regular rack screws. It takes up one rack unit (RU) of space.
LeBon is online now  
post #35 of 35 Old 05-11-2013, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. Just wasn't sure because of the weight. Didn't know if 4 screws in the front would hold it up.
Chad711 is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off