Best way to cable wall mounted tv? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Eppo120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm planning a home theater in my basement. So far, i know I'm going to wall mount the LG ga6400. I'm going to have my 5.1 reciever , cable box, ps3, and PC with hdmi out in a closet. So i plan to run 4 hdmi, cat 6, and the ir blaster cable in the wall.
How should I route the cables to the tv? Just through one of those grommet plates? Can I get a plate with 4 hdmi? I've only seen them with 2. Then I would need 2, 1 gang plates just for hdmi, then one for network, and one for power.
I would just like to know how you guys who have done it before did it, and made it look nice and work correctly.
Thanks
Eppo120 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 02:42 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,372
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 722
get an HDMI switching receiver and just run one HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
your wall mounting bracket will dictate how much depth the other stuff you have behind the TV can take up. adding another wall plate connection behind the TV is going to add the depth of that connector as well as create another failure point in the system. some sort of pass through grommet or snorkle gives you the ability to stuff cable back into the wall if needed, makes servicing the installation much easier.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Eppo120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The receiver I'm using has hdmi ports that don't work though I'll save $120 in cables if I just run one. I may go that route. I saw a TV Mount where the cables routed right through it. So I'll probably just mount the 1 gang for electric, and calls in the wall.
Eppo120 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Eppo120's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The receiver I'm using has hdmi ports that don't work though I'll save $120 in cables if I just run one. I may go that route. I saw a TV Mount where the cables routed right through it. So I'll probably just mount the 1 gang for electric, and calls in the wall.
Eppo120 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-25-2013, 10:39 PM
Newbie
 
abirdie4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
PowerBridge is the way to go.

http://www.powerbridgesolution.com/
abirdie4me is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Tags
Lg Electronics 55ga6400 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 55ga6400 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off