What is the Middle Atlantic rack rails reference for my SLIM5 Rack 20" ??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I would like to know the Middle Atlantic rack rails reference for my SLIM5 37U, my MA Slim Rack is 20” depth (5-37-20).
I need some for supporting heavy equipment mounted within the rack (Cisco 2960G / 2821...).
With it, i can easily swap-out rack-mounted equipment without attaching rackscrews.

I found a product on Middle Atlantic website named CSA-20 but it doesn't seems compliant with SLIM5, it look like that :



Does any know where I can get some cheap ?
I need a place who send product over the sea to France smile.gif

Many thanks for your help.
TheDark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Call MA to find out which Slim5 brackets or shelf to use. Give them the dimensions of your devices (Cisco servers?).

Then, look for a distributor.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Cisco router and switch, not server. Depth shouldn't be an issue.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Depth is not an issue, my problem is to know the rack rail reference.
My Cisco device or PC are standard 19-inch (48.3 cm) equipment.
I already contact MA but they told me to ask to our distributor in Germany, and the distributor didn't answer me !
Maybe because i'm not a dealer ?! So that's why i ask it in the forum biggrin.gif
TheDark is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 04:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Why not just some angle iron and drill mounting holes?
Some rattle can spray paint for a presentable finish...
Tedd is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

It seems difficult to do it without models :

- I need to find some angle iron able to support charge between 50 <> 100 lb
- I need to know the mesure to attach it properly.

The easiest way is to know these reference. wink.gif
TheDark is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 63
All you need to do, is to clamp the angle iron to the rack at the right height, (so any face plate lines up,) and drill the holes.

50 to 100 pounds over 19" of width, is not a heavy load for even aluminum angle.

Aren't there pdfs of all the MA parts on their website?
Tedd is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Why not simply buy the rack ears (brackets) for the Cisco gear, and mount to the front rails of the rack? You should not need support other than rack ears, in my experience with rack-mounting other Cisco gear.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LeBon is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I think that the brackets is not compliant with MA Slim Rack, but i will have a look about it.
Anyway, this is not what i mean, i would like to use the product designed for my Rack.

Best Regads.
TheDark is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-28-2013, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 63
They are listed as not being compliant with the Slim 5.

I don't see any reason they couldn't be attached except for the exterior edge of a Slim 5 being flush.

Is your rack a pull out version of the rack?

CAS-20.jpg 15k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CAS-20.jpg (14.9 KB, 6 views)
Tedd is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-28-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The Slim 5 rack is an industry-standard 19" rack. The Cisco rack ears will work with it with no problems. Cisco also makes brackets (ears) for the rear of their devices if you feel it needs more support.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LeBon is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-28-2013, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 215
The Slim5 uses 10-32 threaded rails which are a common standard. However a lot of computer gear is supplied with slide rails that require 1/4in holes or the square European type holes. These large hole rack rails have clip in 10-32 nuts where a standard threaded hole is needed. I run into this all the time trying to put IT gear into standard broadcast racks.

The unfortunate solution is to IMPROVISE. With a hack saw and drill press you can sometimes make it work by drilling out studs on the slide rails fro example. You can also drill out the rack rail but you then compromise the rack rail for future changes. You can always use clip nuts to repair the rail or order replacement rails.

Rack mounting was standardized back in the 1940s under RETMA which predates most modern standards. The big computer industry of late chose to ignore these specification details in many cases.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-30-2013, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will take Cisco ears and try to mount it for see...
I will be reassure if somone already tried the same things and tell me if it works.

Anyway, it seems that i request a ghost product/item, It's really incredible that Middle Atlantic doesn't have any reference for his slim rack about it.
TheDark is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-31-2013, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Fried01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gentlemen, First, please accept our apologies on behlaf of our European distribution and our factory as well. We should have answered your question instead of sending you to distribution for the answer. They are not the best foks to answer this kind of question. Our techincal support team is quite useful for questions like this. Please consider our 800-266-7225 number and ask for tech support. That said, the CSA brackets are not intended for use on the slim 5 racks. To be used, the CSA requires Z style rails and becuase of the slim design of the 5-37 Z rails are not offered. Additionally, the CSA 18 or 20 is not the correct depth to fit properly in 20" deep slim 5. The product we might suggest would be the SH-5A. This is a 4 pt. mounting, fully vented shelf with a weight capacity of 250 lbs. If this option doesn't fit your needs please call us at the factory and we'll take you through some other suggestions.

thanks,
Steve Fried
Manager of International Sales
Middle Atlantic Products
Fried01 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-01-2013, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I know the SH-5A (i have some), it's not interesting because i will loose 1U if i mount one (thickness issue), this not a good option for me.

Is it possible to mount a CSA brackets with Z Rail into a SLIM5 ? My Slim rack have side panels.
is it possible to see what's it's done with a picture into a SLIM rack ? What is the good depth ? Please give me the reference combinaison (CSA brackets + Zrail).

I'm waiting to hear from you.

Best Regards.
TheDark is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-03-2013, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Fried01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

The Z rail adaptors cannot mount in a slim 5 because there are no rail brackets in the 5 series as there are in the MRK style welded cabinets. After speaking to our engineering group regarding your request the findings are that the CSA product does not mount well in the slim 5. the alternative is the SH-5A shelf. This shelf mounts to rail sides and do not take up mounting space on the rails.

Please let us know your thoughts.

Regards,

Stephen Fried
Middle Atlantic Products
Fried01 is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-03-2013, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The thickness of SH-5A makes me lose the lower fixing hole !!! I am very surprised that nothing exist for avoid this issue.
I will try to find a workaround with Cisco ears or from other brand, but for fixing it properly i will need the 4 screws that you provide in SH5A, do you sell this item ? do you know the reference ?



Regards.
TheDark is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-03-2013, 01:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Your picture doesn't look right. The SH-5A tray I am familiar with mounts to the side rails, and does not take its own rack space.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LeBon is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-03-2013, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a real picture of my slim rack, i can prove it if it was what you try to tell me wink.gif
As you can see it take the lower hole (not entire 1U), but it shift/move the lower U.
TheDark is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-05-2013, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
uP
TheDark is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-07-2013, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
uP
TheDark is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-09-2013, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TheDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France, near Paris...
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
uP
TheDark is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off