Rope lighting control - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2013, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
What are you guys using to control your rope lighting for the ceiling? I'm wanting something similar to this:


I want to be able to turn it on/off and dim from iRule

I have an outlet near too that I can use.

mijotter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2013, 09:12 AM
CEO FALCON SCREENS
 
snickers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

What are you guys using to control your rope lighting for the ceiling? I'm wanting something similar to this:


I want to be able to turn it on/off and dim from iRule

I have an outlet near too that I can use.

most will install an outlet in there light tray and control it by a light switch/dimmer
you will need to make sure the rope light or led's you use are dimmable ,
you can us insteon dimmer switch

in your case if you do not have a switch then check out smarthome.com for insteon or zwave lamp module
something like this
http://www.smarthome.com/2457D2/LampLinc-INSTEON-Plug-In-Lamp-Dimmer-Module-Dual-Band-2-Pin/p.aspx

i rule can control insteon or zwave devices
snickers1 is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I was thinkiing the dimmer outlet switch as well but The Insteon rep said that it cannot control LED's under 10watts.

mijotter is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 09:21 AM
CEO FALCON SCREENS
 
snickers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

I was thinkiing the dimmer outlet switch as well but The Insteon rep said that it cannot control LED's under 10watts.

they do make dimmable leds light strips and they come with remote to control them .... i have led's in my tray and to be honest i really have never seen a need to dim them. The only time i think it would be cool is if you have a scene setup so that when you start a movie it dims the lights then shuts them off.
snickers1 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off