Soundproofing a main water line spigot - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2013, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My main line spigot protrudes about 1" from the framing in the back of my room, not in the immediate theater area. However, we're soundproofing the entire room and I was looking for ideas on how to handle this. I'll upload a picture when I get to a pc.

Thanks!

__________________________________________________ ______

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1415464/aa...sement-theater
AaronN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2013, 04:45 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
sacrifice the inch, add furring to the framing so that the pipe is in the wall. I would have either framed it out in the beginning or moved the pipe.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-19-2013, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Big. The whole pipe is in the framing, I don't think I was clear. Here's the pic:

20130619_170623_zpsb9c7ac7b.jpg

I need to be able to access the shut-off.

__________________________________________________ ______

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1415464/aa...sement-theater
AaronN is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 05:06 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
that is a valve not a spigot, You will need to leave a hole in the wall and then cover the hole with well sealed cover that is of equal construction (mass and dampening) as your wall system. You will also need to make it so that you can quickly remove it or a cover.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-19-2013, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whoops, shows how much I know. Looks like I'll fashion some sort of panel with DD/GG and then figure out a way to seal it. Maybe hinge it and use strong magnets with a rubber seal.

__________________________________________________ ______

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1415464/aa...sement-theater
AaronN is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 05:49 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
can it be in a column?
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had considered that, but we're planning for a kitchenette along that wall.

__________________________________________________ ______

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1415464/aa...sement-theater
AaronN is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:11 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Put it inside a cabinet
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-19-2013, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good call! Thanks! That's why I ask these questions here. I just have to check the height, as I think I put that top outlet receptacle at 42"

__________________________________________________ ______

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1415464/aa...sement-theater
AaronN is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 07:41 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
counter tops are 36
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-19-2013, 07:46 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Put in a Ball Valve, get rid of that Gate valve first, while you can. You can get remote shut-offs that if you have a leak, will shut off the main, so that you do not have to go hunting for the panel in a hurry, for that valve. If you do want to make sure you know where it is, put a panel with some type of clue on it, that you know it is behind it, but is not obvious to someone just walking in the room. Make it a family joke, during the build, so at least there is a Easter egg in the build.
gregzoll is offline  
Old 06-19-2013, 10:22 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,495
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 738
I would also follow the path and see if the main line goes into an unfinished area of the basement before being distributed. If yes I would put a another shut off there. I'm not well versed in city water supply codes and whether there has to be a valve within x feet of entering the house. But if you can add one in a more accessible location rather than buried in a cabinet I would do it without thinking twice about it.
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off