My First Build Ever - Page 5 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Home Entertainment & Theater Builder > Dedicated Theater Design & Construction > My First Build Ever

Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

ClemsonJeeper's Avatar ClemsonJeeper
06:21 AM Liked: 50
post #121 of 274
07-08-2014 | Posts: 494
Joined: Sep 2003
The coax connection to your fios box is simply providing an Ethernet connection over coax, eg, MoCA. The number of times you split it will not affect picture quality at all. Your connection will either work or not work. Unless your video is choppy, which might mean a bad network connection or dropped frames.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
10:13 AM Liked: 38
post #122 of 274
07-08-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClemsonJeeper View Post
The coax connection to your fios box is simply providing an Ethernet connection over coax, eg, MoCA. The number of times you split it will not affect picture quality at all. Your connection will either work or not work. Unless your video is choppy, which might mean a bad network connection or dropped frames.
This makes sense. Thanks. I guess that leaves the HD converter box. I have a multi room DVR on the main floor on a Vizio LED and the HD picture just looks better as in less visible artifacts and clearer HD image. I'm now wondering if the multi room DVR has a better image processor. Is it worth moving the multi room DVR to the basement this evening to test out my theory or is there a quick answer to this issue?
ClemsonJeeper's Avatar ClemsonJeeper
10:24 AM Liked: 50
post #123 of 274
07-08-2014 | Posts: 494
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
This makes sense. Thanks. I guess that leaves the HD converter box. I have a multi room DVR on the main floor on a Vizio LED and the HD picture just looks better as in less visible artifacts and clearer HD image. I'm now wondering if the multi room DVR has a better image processor. Is it worth moving the multi room DVR to the basement this evening to test out my theory or is there a quick answer to this issue?
Seems that would be the best way to test it. Are you sure you aren't just seeing the compression artifacts easier now that the screen is much, much bigger?
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
10:48 AM Liked: 38
post #124 of 274
07-08-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClemsonJeeper View Post
Are you sure you aren't just seeing the compression artifacts easier now that the screen is much, much bigger?
That is also a definite consideration. The projected image diagonal is double the diagonal of my TVs. I imagined that FIOS being fiber based would provide a far less compressed image. I may have to stock up on my Blu Ray collection.
ClemsonJeeper's Avatar ClemsonJeeper
12:06 PM Liked: 50
post #125 of 274
07-08-2014 | Posts: 494
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
That is also a definite consideration. The projected image diagonal is double the diagonal of my TVs. I imagined that FIOS being fiber based would provide a far less compressed image. I may have to stock up on my Blu Ray collection.
It does provide a far less compressed image, comparable to other competitors (Comcast, etc). I believe someone did a review of HD sources and FIOS came on top.

That being said, it is still compressed. VERY compressed. Blu ray is definitely the way to go to show things off.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
10:33 AM Liked: 38
post #126 of 274
07-16-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
I spent the past week or so priming the rest of the basement. I was able to finish priming the entertainment room (bar area), bathroom, linen closet, under stair closet, overflow room, and secure the window sills. Now I just need to pick out a paint color for all of it and get started with the painting.

I'm pretty sure I will go with the blue for the theater room and some sort of green-ish color for everything else in the basement. I just need to run out and get paint. Hopefully I can paint the theater room this weekend and then all next week try painting the rest of the basement.

I would have pics but my phone died on Friday (wont turn on) and I haven't backed up my phone in months! All my pics, videos, family trip pics... all gone.

My next phone I am going back to removable sd cards for sure.
JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
10:48 AM Liked: 45
post #127 of 274
07-16-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
I would have pics but my phone died on Friday (wont turn on) and I haven't backed up my phone in months! All my pics, videos, family trip pics... all gone.

My next phone I am going back to removable sd cards for sure.

someone should be able to recover all that data. don't release possession of it until you're sure that's the case.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
12:03 PM Liked: 38
post #128 of 274
07-18-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
someone should be able to recover all that data. don't release possession of it until you're sure that's the case.
I have a local shop taking a look. Initial prognosis is not looking good. They say they might have to remove the sd card chip and solder it into a working phone to get my data but the phone itself might be toast.
JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
12:09 PM Liked: 45
post #129 of 274
07-18-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
I have a local shop taking a look. Initial prognosis is not looking good. They say they might have to remove the sd card chip and solder it into a working phone to get my data but the phone itself might be toast.
still the SD card in your old phone is still fine - it just needs to be hooked up to something that can read it.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
09:54 AM Liked: 38
post #130 of 274
07-21-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
This is my first staining attempt. Not as even as I hoped but in the grand scheme of the theater I guess it won't look bad if I leave it as is. I also started ripping the finger joint pine for my screen wall. Next up I will rip studs at a 45 degree angle to use as my crown molding anchors and cove lighting mounts.


quamosa's Avatar quamosa
05:30 PM Liked: 38
post #131 of 274
07-21-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
still the SD card in your old phone is still fine - it just needs to be hooked up to something that can read it.
They said the "logic board was fried" the scdard is internal so its a part of the "logic board" they said it was very expensive ($800) to remove the chip and resolder it in a new board. They say they do it mainly for lawyers who need to retrieve data for a court case. Oy! I have a warranty replacement for the phone so now I have to return my old phone so I don't get charged for the new one. Basically I lose all 32 gigs of data pics videos etc.
JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
05:43 PM Liked: 45
post #132 of 274
07-21-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
They said the "logic board was fried" the scdard is internal so its a part of the "logic board" they said it was very expensive ($800) to remove the chip and resolder it in a new board. They say they do it mainly for lawyers who need to retrieve data for a court case. Oy! I have a warranty replacement for the phone so now I have to return my old phone so I don't get charged for the new one. Basically I lose all 32 gigs of data pics videos etc.
They should at least give you the damaged logic board wirh the chip on it. That sucks dude
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
12:45 AM Liked: 38
post #133 of 274
07-29-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
They should at least give you the damaged logic board wirh the chip on it. That sucks dude
So I did get the phone back. I was able to fix it myself in about 30 minutes by opening up the phone and swapping out the sdcard chip with a chip from a warranty replacement phone I was sent by my phone carrier. Once I did the swap my broken phone came back to life and even still worked when I swapped the original sdcard chip back into it. No thanks to those jokers at the cellphone repair company.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
12:50 AM Liked: 38
post #134 of 274
07-29-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Theater update... I spent a few days deliberating on the final color to paint the theater room. I downloaded a few apps that help you to visualize colors. I ended up going with a color called Deep Orchid. It took me about 4 hours to paint the whole room. I do like how it turned out. The color looks blue in some light and purple in others. The actual color is somewhere inbetween. Here are some pics...
Attached: theater painted side.jpg (128.2 KB)  theater painted rear ceiling.jpg (141.5 KB)  theater painted front main.jpg (173.4 KB)  theater painted front looks blue.jpg (137.0 KB)  theater painted back.jpg (137.6 KB)  theater front purple main clear.jpg (172.2 KB) 
JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
03:00 AM Liked: 45
post #135 of 274
07-29-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
So I did get the phone back. I was able to fix it myself in about 30 minutes by opening up the phone and swapping out the sdcard chip with a chip from a warranty replacement phone I was sent by my phone carrier. Once I did the swap my broken phone came back to life and even still worked when I swapped the original sdcard chip back into it. No thanks to those jokers at the cellphone repair company.
Glad you got your data back - what a joke. Who was the carrier?
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
06:32 PM Liked: 38
post #136 of 274
07-29-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Glad you got your data back - what a joke. Who was the carrier?
I have Verizon.
JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
06:43 PM Liked: 45
post #137 of 274
07-29-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
I have Verizon.
that's incredibly disheartening - they are widely regarded as the best carrier...

anyways, back to theater building! git r done!
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
12:40 AM Liked: 38
post #138 of 274
08-03-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
I started working on the crown molding today. It took me all day just to get the backer strips ripped and hung. It took some effort to get the backers secured. I'll line my soffits with MDF or ply if I ever do another build.

I first ripped a couple of studs at 38 degrees.


Then I used finish nails as helpers to help me position and hang the backer.


I left gaps in the strips to leave space for outlet covers. I have 4 circuit boxes in the soffit. I redid the electrical in the theater room and was too lazy to rerun a few circuits so I ended up placing 2 junction boxes for lighting, one junction box for the equipment's 24 amp circuit, and a last box for the rope light power in the soffit.


After many hours of standing on a chair measuring cutting stud finding nailing screwing and more screwing I barely squeezed this out...




Hopefully the crown will look even when I install it. I never done this before and I'm hoping I don't goof and waste any wood. Tomorrow I'll be staining these and if time permits I will try hanging them.


quamosa's Avatar quamosa
08:54 PM Liked: 38
post #139 of 274
08-06-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Here's the crown moulding stained with 1 coat of stain and 3 coats of satin poly.
I ordered the crown from eBay at half price so I didnt get to choose the lengths. This will cause me to have 2 scarf joints, one on each side of the theater within 12" - 20" inches from the center of the soffit. Hopefully I can hide the joints well. Still debating whether I should join the mouldings before mounting them. I bought a moulding jig to help me cut for the various angles without getting too dislexic. Should start and hopefully finish this weekend.
Attached: stainedcrown.jpg (258.8 KB)  stainedcrown2.jpg (236.9 KB) 
DavidK442's Avatar DavidK442
08:59 PM Liked: 120
post #140 of 274
08-06-2014 | Posts: 1,281
Joined: Apr 2010
The stain took well. Oak I assume?
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
10:17 PM Liked: 38
post #141 of 274
08-06-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidK442 View Post
The stain took well. Oak I assume?
Yes that is oak. The stain turned out a little more "red" than I expected but I think it will still work well in the grand scheme of things.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
01:45 PM Liked: 38
post #142 of 274
08-11-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Crown install was successful with a quite a bit of wood left to spare.
Here are my two helpers looking all angelic like. They really helped me with hanging 170" inches of crown on both long sides of soffit as well as the short sides.


I first assembled my two scarf joints on my work bench with a thin strip of 3/4 inch plywood and a couple pocket screws.
I figured if I connected the joints off the wall it would be able to hide them well and get the tightest fit. That was a correct assertion. One of the joints I had problems with and is visible but the other is barely visible.. take a look:


Here is the overall look.. the theater is a bit more warm feeling now.. 


I did goof on the rear right corner... somehow I managed to cut the crown 1/4 inch too short. I was able to hide it well but not before accidentally ripping down the rear crown and backer in the process. I was able to get the backer back up nice and tight and then position the crown to hide the 1/2 inch gap. You cant really see this mistake unless you stand underneath it and look up at the 1/2" gap between the crown and the wall. I guess I can caulk it, putty it, or stuff wood in it so that light doesn't show through.

I also goofed on the little 90 degree crown stops that meet at the projector. I realized after breaking 4 or 5 of those little crowns that they were too thin for brads. I eventually ended up gluing the left one on for a perfect fit, and the right one I was able to nail in the right locations but with a slight gap in the upper corner. I did notice it is halfway cracked but not visible so I might just leave it alone until it breaks then cut another and glue that one on as well.


quamosa's Avatar quamosa
02:13 PM Liked: 38
post #143 of 274
08-11-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
I played around with my RGB lights for the 1st time in forever. I'm looking for a Rube Goldberg collection of parts to dim these without shelling out bills for a Lutron DMX controller because I would love to have color changing led's in my light tray. I think I "may" have found something that might work to dim these called a 0-10v PWM 3 channel dimmer which would sit in between the led controller and the lights. Now I just need to find a 0-10v module for the Grafik Eye. I would change the color with the led controller's remote and dim the lights using the Grafik Eye.

Of course if it doesnt work out I will just go with my single color blue leds which dim just fine on a zone without any extra Lutron modules.

If anyone has figured out how to do this without DMX let me know!
ckronengold's Avatar ckronengold
09:11 AM Liked: 13
post #144 of 274
08-12-2014 | Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by quamosa View Post
I downloaded a few apps that help you to visualize colors.
which apps?
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
04:03 PM Liked: 38
post #145 of 274
08-12-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
which apps?
I used Paint Harmony and Behr ColorSmart. They allow you to paint the walls of real pictures of rooms to see what the color would look like in different settings.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
01:28 PM Liked: 38
post #146 of 274
08-18-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Starting to finish out the pony wall bar.
I have no clue what I'm doing but looks OK so far.

JRock3x8's Avatar JRock3x8
10:56 AM Liked: 45
post #147 of 274
08-20-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2006
whats the height of that bar? looks really tall in the pictures.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
01:45 PM Liked: 38
post #148 of 274
08-20-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
whats the height of that bar? looks really tall in the pictures.
The bar is a standard height(I believe) at approx. 42 inches. The countertop will be set lower at 36 inches. I'm planning for a 1.5 inch countertop, likely made out of laminate/particleboard. I'm trying to finish trimming it out this weekend and figure out whether I need to cut and shape my own particleboard or if thats something the big box stores will do for me.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
01:56 PM Liked: 38
post #149 of 274
08-20-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
So... I went to an AMC theater this weekend. It was redesigned since the last time I been there. It looks like they are trying to compete with home theaters! Its was GREAT! The seating was electric red leather recliners. Each row had about 8-10 feet between so you could recline all the way back and nobody would have any problem walking through the aisle in front of you. They also ditched the stadium seating. Everyone was on the same level but the screen was a little bit higher. The guy next to us was taking pictures of his feet fully reclined! I dont get out much lately so maybe alot of theaters are doing this now... but this was definitely a treat.
quamosa's Avatar quamosa
06:25 PM Liked: 38
post #150 of 274
08-21-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Nov 2006
I went out and bought particle board today. Had big orange cut it for me. I made the appropriate cuts notching out and curving the edges to wrap around the sides of the bar. I plan to laminate the countertop with a black marble laminate and stain all of the oak surfaces. Here's a few pics of the test fit.






Tags: Panasonic Ptae8000u Hd Projector

Gear in this thread - Ptae8000u by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3