My First Build Ever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 137 Old 07-17-2013, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've been lurking this site for many years and I have finally decided to start my first theater build ever. I have never done any kind of building before so I am learning a lot and enjoying the process. I have been in my home for 10 years now. I started finishing the basement myself by framing it all up how I wanted it, then I hired out drywall, plumbing and electrical. For the drywall I only opted to finish half of the basement because I was still deciding what I was going to do with the other half. I eventually decided after going through a few different designs that I would turn the other half into a theater with bar. I ended up redoing all of the electrical for the theater half as my design evolved. Unfortunately my impatience has caused me to implement my design without checking in with fellow AVSers. I'm starting this thread at this point where I have started to drywall the theater. This is a budget build since I am finishing the entire basement. I'm not going all out crazy but wanted to create an enjoyable multi-use split level space. I have a 7.3 surround sound system up and running with smurf tubes in place to go up to 11.3 when I'm ready. Screen size will be 120" 16:9. My projector is the Panny AE8000U. Grey/Translucent 6 zone Grafik eye arrives tomorrow. More pictures and info to follow....

My First Build Ever (which just so happens to be a theater!) (In progress)
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1482020/my-first-build-ever
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 137 Old 07-17-2013, 02:36 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Looks very nice.

Will you be using horns or compression driver speakers up front, due to the length?