Why are power inlets so expensive? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jitspoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This perplexes me. Things like PowerBridge are $50+. Even the monoprice version is almost $50. You can go grab a box, outlet, and faceplate for $1 or less each, retail. The whole kit should be possible to build for $10, but it's not possible to find just a single unmounted inlet for that price. Get a mounted one and the price jumps up to like $30. I don't get it. It's just 3 solid metal prongs. It's not like we're talking about sensitive electronic components here. What's with the 10x+ markup on these things? Am I missing something?
jitspoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 02:02 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,511
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 534
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5278-C-Receptacle-Industrial-Grounding/dp/B0017SOZ8C/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=30A02IJ393GT3&coliid=I1XG34FRW9JUQK
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
This is the one I have used to extend power from a low voltage enclosure to my rack UPS, $20, Decora style.

http://www.amazon.com/Midlite-MDT4642W-Single-Gang-Decor-Recessed/dp/B002XDQAA6


Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Tedd is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 10:14 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,511
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 534
this solution for a power inlet has been around for quite some time.

DSCN0488.jpg
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by jitspoe View Post

This perplexes me. Things like PowerBridge are $50+. Even the monoprice version is almost $50. You can go grab a box, outlet, and faceplate for $1 or less each, retail. The whole kit should be possible to build for $10, but it's not possible to find just a single unmounted inlet for that price. Get a mounted one and the price jumps up to like $30. I don't get it. It's just 3 solid metal prongs. It's not like we're talking about sensitive electronic components here. What's with the 10x+ markup on these things? Am I missing something?

Three things right off the bat:

1) How many standard outlets are manufactured vs power inlet jacks? Economies of manufacturing scale.

2) Power inlet jacks are in the class of "specification grade" components. That is they are typically only used in commercial settings and therefore have tighter UL specifications. You can by a bottom line duplex AC outlet for less than a dollar. But the spec grade outlets also available at most home centers cost $4 and up. Just better quality.

3) You can buy power inlet jacks from industrial suppliers for about $10 retail. But not everybody knows that and many industrial suppliers won't sell retail. So some companies buy these products in bulk, put them in a shiny consumer package, and mark it up 300%.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-28-2013, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Macungie,PA
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Its all about scale, how many inlets are sold vs everything else, if 1 is sold for every 1000 of something else, producing that 1 item takes production time away from producing something your going to sell 1000 more of. Same things goes for every single step down the line, sourcing, distribution, marketing, and so on. That all adds up and the end result is a $50 kit from monoprice for what looks like $10 worth of stuff, its basic economics.
bluewaves is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-29-2013, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Here is what I am using.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Schurter/61003100/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMv1TUPJeFpwblxZ%252bgbqW48rTcpqmxrhhmE%3d

I needed to get power on a wall that had no outlets. This was in a daylight basement so I couldn't bring power through a crawlspace or attic. I installed this jack to a blank wall plate, ran romex from the back side of this to an outlet up on the wall and use a standard power cable to plug into the jack. It turned out to be a budget DIY power bridge for under $10.
Bacon13 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-29-2013, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jitspoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.amazon.com/home-improvement/dp/B00074USHY

$10, $15 shipped - finally found something reasonably priced! The first time I saw it, I thought it was just the plate and the inlet had to be purchased separately
jitspoe is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-29-2013, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

this solution for a power inlet has been around for quite some time.

DSCN0488.jpg

That's what I would have done too. smile.gif

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Glenn_Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

this solution for a power inlet has been around for quite some time.

DSCN0488.jpg

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't electrical code say that you shouldn't run cords through walls? I think the code says any cords have to be visible so that the user can see damage, whereas heavier romex type cords are ok inside walls.
Glenn_Law is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 05:11 PM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,517
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn_Law View Post

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't electrical code say that you shouldn't run cords through walls? I think the code says any cords have to be visible so that the user can see damage, whereas heavier romex type cords are ok inside walls.

The cords are actually tails tied to a similar gauge Romex in a proper receptacle box. The face plate has a strain relief clamp to prevent any harm to the electrical connection in the box if the cord happens to get yanked.
TMcG is online now  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The sheath of the chords should be rated for in wall use.
Tedd is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-30-2013, 06:23 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,511
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 534
The cord is not in the wall it is in the box, it transitions to in-wall rated cable before it enters the wall. It isn't much different than a lot of chandelier designs which are UL approved. If you look at most pendants and chandeliers the wire from the ceiling box to the lights is generally not in-wall rated they connect with twister nuts up in the box to Romex.

This design has passed inspection but YMMV
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off