Liveoak Theater - My DIY Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 09-04-2013, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello! I've made a few posts here but have spent much more time reading and researching. I think it's about time I consolidate into one build thread instead of asking individual questions. At this point, I'm just getting started and will need some help along the way. Please forgive me if this sounds like random rambling at first. It's hard to be completely coherent when i'm trying to describe everything running through my head for the last couple of months. I'm planning on a 120" screen, 7.1 surround sound, and usage maybe an equal mix of TV and movies with a little bit of video gaming and music listening thrown in.

The room is a typical "bonus" room or FROG with 5' high knee walls and an 8' ceiling. The room measures 13' by 23.5'. It is the only upstairs room in the house. Here is a picture:

room-before_zpsc21b7e69.jpg

The screen will be going on the wall with the window (blocked out, of course). I marked the corners with tape but I will probably raise the screen a little higher than what is shown. I've done a very basic copy-and-paste Photoshop job to show what I'm going for.

Black-and-Tan-Theme_zpse3e274da.jpg

This may be an overuse of black, but most people seem to think that is a good thing. The slanted ceilings are more ceiling than wall so I made them black as well. The only color comes from the knee wall and back wall, and I'm considering a cappuccino color for that.

As for seating, I'm planning on two rows of sofas with recliners, though traditional theater seating is tempting. Whichever the case, the second row would be on a riser. I'd like to leave an option to have a third row in the form of an eat-in bar.