Question about my Projector location - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 09-25-2013, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is been a long time since I have done anything on my home theater room because I was installing a tankless boiler combo and since was a DIY it took a very long time, but that is done and it is working. While going to my theater setup and thought about my projector location. I have a low ceiling 81" and the projector will be located on the back of the room. My screen is going to be a 49X115 2.35. The projector throw distance will be 15.5 feet and my view distance is going to be 10. I was wonder if I will be blocking the projector light while seating?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-25-2013, 01:32 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm no expert but since you still don't have any replies I'll try to kick things off.

It's all geometry. So I think you need to provide a few more dimensions to get your answer. Are your seats on risers, how far off the ground is your head at its highest position, are you on risers? How far down from the ceiling does your screen start? Since it will be 49 inches below that, you can draw a line from the bottom edge of the screen to your projector lens. If you measure everything to scale and put your seating position in, you should be able to see if your head will interfere. You could also probably do this in google sketchup.
post #3 of 8 Old 09-25-2013, 03:02 PM
DGF

Liked: 39
As stated, some form of scale drawing is a really good way to go. You don't mention if you already have a projector, but remember to check that whatever you're going to be using can handle the image offsets that you'll need. Also, check out the threads on vertical placement of screens, to make sure that you have a comfortable viewing height.
post #4 of 8 Old 09-25-2013, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter

I don't have a projector or screen, I'm still in construction[IMG