passive subs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 17 Old 11-03-2013, 01:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a very basic noobish question.
Do I want passive or powered sub woofers in my ht?
My experience with av equipment is limited to my current tv room setup with an onkyo av 5.1 system including a small 8" powered sub box.
I am currently building a dedicated ht in the basement and planning to have 2 12" subs located behind a AT screen along with the left right and center speakers.
I just don't know rather it's better to have the sub amps in the av closet or powered sub boxes. I haven't purchased my ht receiver so that's completely still open. Is there a receiver that offers amplification for sub woofers or are they only pre amp outputs?
Sorry like I said I am a noob when it comes to this.
Thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 11-03-2013, 02:51 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 1003
You'll need a separate sub amp (or amps, although one might do) for passive subs; also likely you might need some sort of dsp/eq, which can come included with suitable amps for passive subs or in a separate unit like a miniDSP. AVRs have only sub pre-outs (and not enough juice to run much of a passive sub otherwise) but do usually offer built in bass management.

What subs are you considering?

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz

post #3 of 17 Old 11-03-2013, 06:01 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 729