Is a home theater this size worth doing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 11-05-2013, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My house has a finished basement with one large room and a bathroom. As it is currently configured, the large room is not very useful for my purposes. I'm thinking about partitioning the large space into two rooms and a hallway. One room would become my office (I'm currently using a bedroom, which is less than ideal). I'd like to put a home theater in the other room.

I've measured the basement and modeled it in SketchUp. The proposed floor plan I'm currently working with results in a home theater room that is 11' wide, 18'8" long, and 8'7" high. Ideally, I'd like the room to be wider, but I haven't figured out how to do this without compromising the office on the other side of the wall to an unacceptable degree.

I've never built a home theater before, so my questions to those of you who have are:

(1) Is 11'W x 18'8"L x 8'7"H an acceptable size/ratio for a dedicated home theater? At times during the modeling process, I've wondered if the proposed room is too small for a theater experience, and I haven't yet carved out a space for the A/V closet.

(2) What diagonal image size can I realistically expect from a projector for this room? While it appears that some projectors would be capable of, say, a 125" image with a 17' throw, I don't know that the definition would be acceptable from a 1080p source unless one was sitting near the back of the room.

(3) How many people can I expect to comfortably seat in a room this size? There are four people in my immediate family, and I'd like to be able to seat some friends as well. The guy in the SketchUp scene makes three look like it'd be a crowd.

Thanks in advance for your insights.

Current basement:

Proposed basement:

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2013, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 76