Electrical help, pretty please! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I'm trying to get the main junction wired before my drywall crew comes back in the morning for their final touches.

I've never done 3-ways and am having quite a difficult time with this. I have two locations; a 4-gang with five utilities, and a 2-gang with 3-ways for 2 of those 5 utilities. The live goes to the 4-gang.

Anyone able to provide some help?

Thanks!

Electrical_zps3f227a88.png
AaronN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:09 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,505
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 533
As you can see the secret is a 3 conductor wire plus ground connecting the switch boxes. One for each set of lights on a three way switch pair.

3-way-swtich-light-between2.gif
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a lot clearer than the instructions that came with the switches, thanks!

However, am I screwed because I have the power source and the wire to the lights at the same box?
AaronN is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:15 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,505
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 533
no problem there is a solution and I edited my image.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AaronN is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:25 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,505
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 533
that is a lot of circuits for a single 14/2 power feed, and please don't think you can just run 12/2 for the feed, all the wire must match in a given circuit.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-18-2013, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AaronN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My electrician said it's fine, given the specific loads. I don't know nearly enough to make that call.
AaronN is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off