Anyone know what CAD software this might have been made with? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bt90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://cadovations.com/av_01%20Layout1%20(1).pdf

here is a link to an image of a CAD drawing.
bt90 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 11:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
LeBon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
We used to use a product called VidCAD, which was an add-on to AutoCAD, to document broadcast studio plants. It produced drawings like this, but it was very expensive.
LeBon is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 12:05 PM
Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Nothing you wouldn't be able to duplicate using photoshop or even gimp, with a bit of virtual elbow grease.

But it would not be easy or fast and at times mind numbingly tedious.
TorTorden is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
ktm250rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solidworks or almost any CAD program could do that. Any way to find out the native file type?
ktm250rider is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bt90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure on the native file type. We only have the printed files..
bt90 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Maybe DTools? I use v.6 and do drawings like that for my clients. v.6 doesn't look exactly like the one you sent but its possible earlier versions did.

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I right clicked in the PDF document and went to "Properties". It says AutoCAD 2004.
sebberry is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
morphlaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But autocad costs a bloody fortune. Using it for something like this is silly, IMO. I bet you could make a drawing like that in Microsoft Visio or if you have a Mac, you could use OmniGraffle. You could even try something more like a vector art program like InkScape or Illustrator.
morphlaugh is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
One reason to use something like AutoCAD for electrical diagrams is that the designer can place electrical and electronic components in the plans for the room/theater/whatever and have the system generate wiring diagrams.

Or if you're designing equipment racks you can automate your wiring diagrams. Many commercial A/V, electrical and automation products will have equipment drawings in popular CAD formats, too.
sebberry is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-11-2013, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphlaugh View Post

But autocad costs a bloody fortune. Using it for something like this is silly, IMO. I bet you could make a drawing like that in Microsoft Visio or if you have a Mac, you could use OmniGraffle. You could even try something more like a vector art program like InkScape or Illustrator.

Not really, with DTools it's part of a workflow. There is a big database with all the products you use, their connections, pricing, etc. You build proposals for clients from that database. Then once project is approved you go into engineering. There is a plugin for AutoCAD and Visio from DTools, you drag products onto the drawing. You can create many views including rack elevation views, wiring diagrams, etc. You can print wire labels from DTools straight onto a desktop Brother label printer. Then when you come back to the system in a year or two you have a diagram showing how everything is wired up, all of your cables are labeled and it is easy to service. It's one of the things separating the boys from the men in terms when you are paying someone else to put your system together for you.

Here's another example, last page is the wiring diagram, this one created with DTools
NyalMellor 1078k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DemoTheater-Engineering-1.pdf (1.05 MB, 6 views)

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off