Rack mountable Gig Switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dodobirdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I’m looking for a rack mountable 8-16 port unmanaged gigabit switch, but… I’d like the ports to be in the back (hidden from view). Anyone have recommendations?
Dodobirdy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa... GO HAWKS!
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I doubt they make one. The purpose of the rack mount switch is easy access to see both line status and hookups. Throwing the connections on the back of the unit defeats that ability.

If you have a four post rack, buy a normal switch and mount the switch to the back two posts, facing the opposite direction as your gear, instead of the front posts. I did it to help hide it from view and it works great.
deewan is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 12:05 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,511
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 534
I've got some kind of switch in my rack tucked on the back some where, Who needs to look at the lights. I don't even know what those blinkin lights are trying to tell me.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Pakedge is the only company that I'm aware of.

http://www.abt.com/product/71785/Pakedge-S18E.html

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dodobirdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
@deewan/bigmouth - my rear brackets are only 16 inches high. I can potentially replace those with full length and rig it. I can also just screw it into a wall on one of the sides of the rack. I don't need to look at it.

@BllDo - wasn't aware of that company, thank you. Non manageable and no POE for $350 is steep.
Dodobirdy is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
use a rack with rear rails and mount any conventionally designed switch back there. That's what we have doing with the latest rash of IP control based Crestron and Extron systems we have been putting in the bigger classrooms.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dodobirdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Sounds like what I'll have to do. Thanks all - off to buy full length rear rails.
Dodobirdy is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Very few are rear ported. Especially 16 port.. this is my personal fav for 8 port. I use this in my theater and other parts of my home. Very reliable switch and preferred it over an all switches I've owned previously.. The 8 port version is rear ported.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/307605/GREENnet_TEG-S80G_8-Port_Gigabit_Ethernet_Switch
adidino is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-08-2014, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Helheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just mount mine to the back of the rack, I don't need to see it.
Helheim is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-16-2014, 12:21 AM
Member
 
gerard143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I happen to have a brand new pakedge switch I will sell for a sweet price. http://pakedge.com/docs/sw24_gbp_brochure.pdf for info on the model. Rear ports like you desire. $1150 is retail. Fully managed. Your price is not even half and less then dealer cost.
gerard143 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-16-2014, 04:43 AM
Member
 
xjagox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What's the deal with the Pakedge stuff? To be honest, I'd never heard of them until a few weeks ago, but seem to come across their name in a ton of AVS posts all of a sudden.

I'm failing to see what is special about them. Seems like a normal Ethernet switch that is being hyped and marketed to the niche A/V market?
xjagox is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 01-16-2014, 05:03 AM
Member
 
gerard143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only real brand that is focusing directly to the a/v market. Their new Xcore line looks gorgeous in a rack, the rear ports, and things like allowing Apple TV for example to speak across multiple vlans without needing a full layer 3 switch. The have a very complete lineup of switches from unmanaged to managed to full poe or some poe some reg. Access point controller, rack mounted access point, ip power strips. Good stuff
gerard143 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-29-2014, 04:47 PM
Member
 
dadalr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look at pakedge.com
dadalr is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off