Can you install a regular outlet in line with a PowerBridge? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-14-2014, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ParanoidDroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to figure out a way to get this to work without hiring an electrician. I have one outlet and need three. Ive drawn my layout. Is this possible? I know I can run another outlet from a single outlet, but will the outlet work if its wired in series with a PowerBridge device? Nothing would be added that's not already on on the circuit....so no increase in load.

So it would be PowerBridge Inlet---->Romex---->Another Outlet--->Romex--->Powerbridge Out to main outlet

Dont laugh at my pictures. The wiring diagram is attached in the PDF File.



Setup.PDF 32k .PDF file

The TV would stay where its at. The receivers would be moved underneath the bar.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Setup.PDF (32.5 KB, 18 views)
ParanoidDroid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-14-2014, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Why would you need to run power bridges? Usually the purpose of a powerbridge would be to hide unsightly wiring from a wall mounted tv. Running an outlet behind the fridge and bar shouldn't require that. Wiring up an outlet is barely different than wiring up a power bridge. If you have to run wires from the TV outlet to 1a and 1b just use regular outlets and save some money.

A basic diagram of how to wire.
http://www.handymanhowto.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Parallel-Wiring1.jpg

Youtube video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CN4sxAmcRME
oman321 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-14-2014, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ParanoidDroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oman321 View Post

Why would you need to run power bridges? Usually the purpose of a powerbridge would be to hide unsightly wiring from a wall mounted tv. Running an outlet behind the fridge and bar shouldn't require that. Wiring up and outlet is barely different than wiring up a power bridge. If you have to run wires from the TV outlet to 1a and 1b just use regular outlets and save some money.

A basic diagram of how to wire.
http://www.handymanhowto.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Parallel-Wiring1.jpg

Youtube video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CN4sxAmcRME

The powerbridge 1A would be hiding wires going into the wall and up across the ceiling to the speakers up top.

I guess I was worried about how many outlets would be running off one outlet. I guess I could wire the fridge to a regular outlet which would be connected to another rooms outlet. If I did that, would it be OK to do the powerbridge in line with another outlet, then to the powerbridge to outlet?
ParanoidDroid is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-14-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Probably best to do that for the fridge just so you don't get spikes from the fridge when it runs. Like you said, since the load isn't changing you shouldn't have a problem. What I recall from personal knowledge a circuit should only have about 8-10 fixtures/receptacles on it. Best practice is to calculate what you actual load will be and go to about 80% of the circuits max.

Again since you are not changing the load, you should be ok.
oman321 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-14-2014, 11:49 AM
Member
 
bluedevilbrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see no reason why you need a powerbridge.

Just wire all of the outlets together and forget about the inlet.
bluedevilbrent is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off