LED Rope lighting in soffits - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: How do youinstall your LED rope lights
Just clip them to the frame of the soffit 3 42.86%
Use a reflective tape to even the flow 1 14.29%
Other... please explain in a post 3 42.86%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Schlemstar
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-23-2014, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 233
LED Rope lighting in soffits

How do you in stall it in uor soffits?

Do you use any kind of reflective tape,... Or do you just clip it to the frame?

tia,
Ron

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-23-2014, 11:03 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Gravity
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-23-2014, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post
Gravity
How do you keep the light output in a straight line? Do you use anything to make it more reflective? We have our shelf for the LED rope lights at about 4" from the ceiling... Is that about right?

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Schlemstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I placed mine behind crown moulding on blocks that I cut at an angle to fit behind the crown. I used ziptie mounts attached to the blocks to hold the rope light. Check out my build thread for pictures. Hope that helps!

-Schlemstar
ellisr63 likes this.
Schlemstar is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 233
I did the first set of rope lights yesterday... Since we only had 4" to work with and our rope lights are rectangular shaped LEDs... I ended up using a paint stick for a guide and screwed the clips into the rear wall of the rope soffit. When we make our fabric panels for the soffits we will use a 1x6 for the top board instead of a 1x2 ... This should make it easier to get at the rope lights if we ever have a failure.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 299
I first laid down reflective tape and allowed gravity to set rope light into place at bottom of crown.

LED's didn't give me the light output I wanted........saved a few bucks on that decision........besides, rope lights aren't on very much so longevity is not a concern.
doublewing11 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewing11 View Post
I first laid down reflective tape and allowed gravity to set rope light into place at bottom of crown.

LED's didn't give me the light output I wanted........saved a few bucks on that decision........besides, rope lights aren't on very much so longevity is not a concern.
What did you use for reflective tape?

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
What did you use for reflective tape?
Good ole' 4" reflective duct liner tape........big box or any HVAC distributor will have it.
doublewing11 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 04:24 PM
Member
 
robinsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I will be using these:

http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers...+under+cabinet

They work great, and look great and are small enough you can't see them, and plenty bright and dimmable. Have used them under cabinets, and they look good....
robinsj is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsj View Post
I will be using these:

http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers...+under+cabinet

They work great, and look great and are small enough you can't see them, and plenty bright and dimmable. Have used them under cabinets, and they look good....
Do you have a dimmable transformer for them since they are 12v?
I went with this one... http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 They are dimmable too, but I had to use this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to get them to turn off. They will dim all the way down to 1% without any flicker at all.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-24-2014, 08:08 PM
Member
 
robinsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes, I use a dimmable transformer with them..
robinsj is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off