LED Rope lighting in soffits - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: How do youinstall your LED rope lights
Just clip them to the frame of the soffit 3 42.86%
Use a reflective tape to even the flow 1 14.29%
Other... please explain in a post 3 42.86%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Schlemstar
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2014, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 252
LED Rope lighting in soffits

How do you in stall it in uor soffits?

Do you use any kind of reflective tape,... Or do you just clip it to the frame?

tia,
Ron

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2014, 12:03 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,492
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 735
Gravity
BIGmouthinDC is online now  
Old 06-23-2014, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post
Gravity
How do you keep the light output in a straight line? Do you use anything to make it more reflective? We have our shelf for the LED rope lights at about 4" from the ceiling... Is that about right?

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Schlemstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I placed mine behind crown moulding on blocks that I cut at an angle to fit behind the crown. I used ziptie mounts attached to the blocks to hold the rope light. Check out my build thread for pictures. Hope that helps!

-Schlemstar
ellisr63 likes this.
Schlemstar is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 252
I did the first set of rope lights yesterday... Since we only had 4" to work with and our rope lights are rectangular shaped LEDs... I ended up using a paint stick for a guide and screwed the clips into the rear wall of the rope soffit. When we make our fabric panels for the soffits we will use a 1x6 for the top board instead of a 1x2 ... This should make it easier to get at the rope lights if we ever have a failure.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 321
I first laid down reflective tape and allowed gravity to set rope light into place at bottom of crown.

LED's didn't give me the light output I wanted........saved a few bucks on that decision........besides, rope lights aren't on very much so longevity is not a concern.
doublewing11 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewing11 View Post
I first laid down reflective tape and allowed gravity to set rope light into place at bottom of crown.

LED's didn't give me the light output I wanted........saved a few bucks on that decision........besides, rope lights aren't on very much so longevity is not a concern.
What did you use for reflective tape?

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post
What did you use for reflective tape?
Good ole' 4" reflective duct liner tape........big box or any HVAC distributor will have it.
doublewing11 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 05:24 PM
Member
 
robinsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I will be using these:

http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers...+under+cabinet

They work great, and look great and are small enough you can't see them, and plenty bright and dimmable. Have used them under cabinets, and they look good....
robinsj is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,160
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsj View Post
I will be using these:

http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers...+under+cabinet

They work great, and look great and are small enough you can't see them, and plenty bright and dimmable. Have used them under cabinets, and they look good....
Do you have a dimmable transformer for them since they are 12v?
I went with this one... http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 They are dimmable too, but I had to use this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to get them to turn off. They will dim all the way down to 1% without any flicker at all.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:08 PM
Member
 
robinsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes, I use a dimmable transformer with them..
robinsj is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 11:07 AM
Member
 
dmbandtimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where did you get your dimmable transformer and which one did you get. I just ordered the LED strip light for 11.77 on amazon. Thanks!
dmbandtimmy is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Diesel 48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are people using the strips of LED's or actual rope lights? I was looking at these.
http://shop.ledwholesalers.com/index...product_id=572
Diesel 48 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
dmbandtimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel 48 View Post
Are people using the strips of LED's or actual rope lights? I was looking at these.
http://shop.ledwholesalers.com/index...product_id=572
It looks like this is the same thing. I would like to know this as well. I looked at a video on youtube and some guy had it changing colors to music. That would be a cool added bonus. I'd 99% likely use it on the white and classy look, but it would be cool to have options.

http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers...d+ribbon+light
dmbandtimmy is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 05:04 PM
Member
 
dmbandtimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5M-SMD-RGB-5...item4170393a22

I found this also. Looks like a lot of them have been sold...
dmbandtimmy is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 06:17 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have a 20m one of those (10m x 2) off ebay for my soffit. Works great

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk
WIKED is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I got mine at LEDROPELIGHTSANDMORE.com. You can see in my build thread with pictures how it worked out.
7channelfreak is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off