AVS Forum banner

HT Design - 14' x 19' 5" : Circulation!

999 views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  RedStripe88 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I managed to get my architect to extent the room to its maximum available size - it's now 14' 1.5" x 19' 5".
I am now struggling with three things:

1. Layout of HT Seating (trying/want 8 if possible) - and the entry way seems to make this an issue.
  2. How to provide A/C to the room (it's in Jamaica - no heat required),
  3. Given the lack of spacd behind any of the walls, what should I do about speaker positioning. the projector will of course, be ceiling mounted.

You will note a work station (music production) in an alcove on one side and teh entry on the alcove on the opposite side. I *COULD* move the entry door up to about 10' to the left (west).
Thoughts? Ideas? Jamaicing me crazy! A diagram is attached.

s.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Great to see someone building a theater in Jamaica.

I'm not an expert by any means, but here are a few thoughts on rough placement for your layout:

The LCR speakers could go behind an Acoustically transparent screen. The side surrounds could be put in columns. And the rear surrounds could be in a rear soffit or rear columns.

Disclaimer, I didn't check dimensions, seating distances, aisle widths etc. For example, depending on the seats that you choose, you may or may not be able to fit four across on the brown riser in the picture.

I'm guessing someone will weigh in on whether the alcove creates any acoustic issues that are difficult to solve.