Moving home theatre across the planet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Unread 12-21-2014, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Question Moving home theatre across the planet

Hi all.

Not necessarily a 'building' post, but a 'moving and rebuilding' post. There's no real forum for this: I need to move my entire household, including of course all my HIFI, from Europe to Australia.

This is the main system with my precious Denon S1 components.
There are in total 31 speakers, 5 tube amps, and about 15 other components involved: 10 Speakers and the tube amps are from Ian Schneller's Specimen Products in Chicago and the other speakers are Infinity (mainly Kappa) in all kinds and sizes.

In order for everything to move, it is going to be packed up in an ocean freight container, and will float the seven seas for a couple of months. I am extremely anxious about this. Especially since there seems to be no insurance provider willing to provide any insurance against vibration damage, electrical damage, atmospherical damage and pest damage.

Is there anyone with experience in this? I'm sure temperatures in the container can get pretty high, but maybe also pretty low. I'm sure it will be vibrating like crazy. No idea about humidity. Is there any special instructions I should give to the people coming to pack everything up?

Apart from that, I look very much forward to finding a home with space to really build an auditorium appropriate to the quality and class of this equipment. I'll be sure to document it on these forums.

cheers,
whiter
whiter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Unread 12-21-2014, 05:16 AM
Member
 
Gorilla Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Signal Mtn
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
wow, triple bag and over pack with foam. Id be nervous as well, look into possibly sending by air, may be more expensive, but wont be bouncing in 30 ft seas, moisture and slammed around when loading and unloading containers. You could insure that with the carrier I would think
Gorilla Killa is online now  
post #3 of 9 Unread 12-21-2014, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla Killa View Post
wow, triple bag and over pack with foam. Id be nervous as well, look into possibly sending by air, may be more expensive, but wont be bouncing in 30 ft seas, moisture and slammed around when loading and unloading containers. You could insure that with the carrier I would think
The S1 components have proper flight cases. But still. I'm sure everything will be reasonably secured inside the container... But still. (again)

There's no way I can afford the air transport sadly. Took me months to get funding for appropriate sea freight and 'general insurance' approved by my new employer over there.
whiter is offline  
post #4 of 9 Unread 12-21-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Gorilla Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Signal Mtn
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Anything from overseas obviously travels that way, but I get your apprehension. I wish you luck in the shipping and your new job and residence. Visit to Australia is on my bucket list
Gorilla Killa is online now  
post #5 of 9 Unread 12-21-2014, 10:33 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,634
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Isn't the electrical service different?
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #6 of 9 Unread Yesterday, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
whiter is offline  
post #7 of 9 Unread Yesterday, 03:50 PM
Member
 
69glamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Australia's household voltage is 230 volts / 50 Hz. Not sure what your native country voltage/ hertz is running at.... Check the nameplates on your equipment before plugging in.
69glamboy is offline  
post #8 of 9 Unread Today, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Oh yeah, that's the same. Just need new plugs on everything. I hope the standard fuses / circuit breakers in the meter cupboards are good enough for the surge that the power amps produce when switching on. In my current place there are 10A circuit breakers that break when I switch the 2nd POA-S1 on. When I switch the circuit breaker back all is fine and up and running. Quite annoying, but only a temporary place for a couple more months so whatever...
whiter is offline  
post #9 of 9 Unread Today, 12:19 PM
Member
 
scraejtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I guess I'm on the other side and wouldn't be as worried. Most of my equipment was probably shipped by sea at some point to the US, as long as it is packaged well I don't see the issue. Might be worth it to throw some desiccant in as well.
scraejtp is online now  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off