AVS Forum banner

CJ theater build thread

58K views 669 replies 55 participants last post by  Rjloper9 
#1 ·
Ok, I'm officially kicking off my theater roombuild thread. I studied this forum for the past three or four months andI still have a lot to go, but I believe I've absorbed enough to getstarted. By the way, I'll probably change the theater name at some point,I just needed something to get this thing started.

I bought the house in September of last year and thereis a place in the basement set up as a "theater room." Inquotes because it is simply an area in the basement, open to the rest of thebasement, where the previous owners hung a screen and threw up somecheap in-wall speakers. I was originally going to just build a wall toclose in the room and call it a day, but then I decided that as long as I'mgoing to do anything, I might as well do it right. The room is 14'7" wide, and because of design constraints, I am limited to making the room 21' long. The room is 8'6" high in the tray and 7'6" high at the bottom of the chase.

Here is what the space looked like

I have since started the demolition, and the space now looks like this

Here is the basic design. There will be a false wall with AT screen, ~125in 16:9 with electric masking system. First row eyes will be pretty close at about 9ft. I will be using some combination of buttkickers/Aura Pro. Recliners in the front row and a sofa in the second because of length constraints. The equipment will be in an unfinished storage room that is near the theater room

This design will actually be changed slightly as I'm removing the half wall behind the second row and adding that space to the half wall / foot rest between the rows. The idea is that I want to fit two SI HT18 in that half wall for near field effect and to supplement the subs behind the AT screen. I'm wondering if anyone has ever tried this and if it is a good or bad idea.

For lighting I will use Insteon and I'm currently planning on 8 zones: