In need of help from experienced people. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

Old 12-03-2015, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
In need of help from experienced people.

Hello guys, I just created an account here right now, mostly in order to be able to write this thread. (Sorry if i accidently chose the wrong section)

Here's the background, I'm new to this (everything about projectors), although i have been reading up quite a lot for about a week now, but i still feel the need of help from people who actually know for sure what works and what doesn't. I am probably going to buy a Benq HT1075 projector (99% sure that it is going to be that one ). I have a room in my house that I'm planning to use as a home theater. Im going to setup the projector far enough from the screen so that it will fill a 100" screen, and we will sit about 4-4,5 meters from it.

Here is my actual questions..
The room will be pretty much completely dark, and barely no ambient light. The walls in that room are yellow/white, with other words pretty light. I have the intention to use the projector at the setting "smart eco". What kind of a screen should i buy while having these things in my mind?
Based on what i've learned (last 7 days), I'm thinking that i should go for a gray screen with the gain about 1,3. I -think- that this will be appropriate because:
1. The walls are light so in order for them not to sabotage the experience its better with some gain.
2. The gain will improve the brightness of the movie, which is needed because of the use of a gray screen + eco mode.