Spray or Roll Drywall Primer? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 05-27-2003, 06:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I mentioned in a previous post, I ended up hiring a pro to do the mudding and taping. So it looks like this weekend I'll be priming the newly finished drywall for painting.

I'll have a storage room(8x8), hallway/stairwell, and 18x24 room to prime. Although I won't be priming the main room 4ft and below due to GOM.

Has anyone used or recommends using a sprayer to prime everything vs using a roller? Seems like I can save several hours using a sprayer instead of rolling. I've never used one before though... pros/cons?

Thanks,

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 05-27-2003, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
OK Jeff,

Here's what happened to us - after many years of seeming to enjoy using brushes and rollers for our paint projects, I thought it would be a cool idea to save time (HA!) by buying a "power roller". We used it over the weekend to prime and paint the ceiling of our HT. What a waste of time and money!!! Although it didn't take too long to do the actual painting, the 1 1/2 hours to clean it up was ridiculous!!! I marched that thing back to the (unnamed ) store and returned it - AAAUUUGH! Glad to be part of the "manual" world again, where cleanup is a breeze!

Hope this helps!

Pam :)

Pam
post #3 of 16 Old 05-27-2003, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter

I've used one of those "PowerRollers" and would have to agree about the cleanup. I'm actually thinking about one of the Sprayers like they use in new construction. Granted, it gets everywhere, but being that there is nothing in the room, no big deal.

Although, rolling it maybe just as easy. After all, it is only primer.
post #4 of 16 Old 05-27-2003, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13