Acoustical Caulk? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Location: outside of Denver CO - between Parker and Elizabeth (wayyyyy SE)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I remember hearing from several sources that drywall seams should be caulked, including floor and ceiling, with an acoustical caulk. I can't find a source of any caulking product that specifically states it is for acoustic treatment.

Do you think any siliconized acrylic caulk will do just as well?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 04:01 PM

As a newbie myself, I did read about it. Any silicon caulking will work because the basic idea is to stop airflow hence to stop sound "leak".
Best regards
Ken

Sea Breeze Theater is now under construction.
post #3 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member

Acoustical caulk differs from silicon caulk in that it remains pliable over time. Thus, acoustical caulk does not crack or leave gaps as the walls (floors, etc.) expand and contract over time. Acoustical caulk is not available at Home Depot or Lowes (where I live), but is readily available at all commercial drywall supply houses.

Steve
post #4 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 05:12 PM

I got mine at www.ShelterSupply.com it is also available online at AcousticalSolutions.
post #5 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 07:20 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 580
There are rubberized (silicon) acrylic caulks on the shelf at HD and Lowes that claim to remain flexible for 50-75 years. Since I'm 53, I think that is pretty much a lifetime guarantee. They are $3 ish a tube. Why use the stuff labeled Acoustic?
post #6 of 27 Old 05-28-2003, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally posted by BIGmouthinDC
... They are $3 ish a tube. Why use the stuff labeled Acoustic?
I think I agree. I think the 35 yr stuff would be OK by me also.