Lutron Caseta dimmer fit standard decora wall plates? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-21-2017, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trpltongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Lutron Caseta dimmer fit standard decora wall plates?

Hey all,


I'm thinking about redoing some of the lights in my theater and am considering the Lutron Caseta system. However, the switches I would be replacing are in 4 gang boxes with 2-3 other "normal" decora switches.


Do the Lutron Caseta dimmer switches fit in a normal sized decora wall plate?
trpltongue is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-21-2017, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
acras13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles , CA
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Yes . With switches like that , there are tabs on the sides that you break off when ganging them , you break off the tabs on whichever side adjoins another device .

It was like that when I got here
acras13 is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-22-2017, 02:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trpltongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
But does the actual physical switch portion fit in a Decora wall plate? The only reason I ask is because they sell Caseta 1-6 gang wall plates and there's nothing on the website that says they fit standard decora wall plates. They do mention that the whole unit fits into normal gang size boxes, but nothing about standard decora wall plates

I would just go buy one at home depot and check, but I'm living in the middle east and planning my theater for when I return

Thanks,

Russell
trpltongue is online now  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-23-2017, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
69glamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by trpltongue View Post
But does the actual physical switch portion fit in a Decora wall plate? The only reason I ask is because they sell Caseta 1-6 gang wall plates and there's nothing on the website that says they fit standard decora wall plates. They do mention that the whole unit fits into normal gang size boxes, but nothing about standard decora wall plates

I would just go buy one at home depot and check, but I'm living in the middle east and planning my theater for when I return

Thanks,

Russell
They fit... I just tried one with a single decora plate
69glamboy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-23-2017, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
69glamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69glamboy View Post
They fit... I just tried one with a single decora plate
I bought a factory Lutron 4 gang plate for my switches. When I saw it I thought it looked "f-ugly"...
69glamboy is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-23-2017, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trpltongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 1,691
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks!

Yeah, unfortunately some of my switches are part of normal 4-gang plates so they have to squeeze in there
trpltongue is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off