Load bearing poles in middle of basement - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 12-27-2004, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to set up my HT in my basement. The basement is 24' x 24' . My problem is this: There are 2 metal poles (load bearing) that support the upstairs floor joist. These poles divide the basement in half. I know they have to be there, but is there anyway to relocate them a few feet over, so I can get the room size I want? Maybe with steel plates or steel I beams or something else? I will not be doing this part of it, but I wanted to know if it could be done. I will be doing the walls, and I did not want the poles inside the room. I am not a structural engineer, so I did not know if this was even possible. Has anyone else ran into this problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 12-27-2004, 08:47 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
EDIT: I just re-read your post. Do you want to relocate the support poles, or the entire beam? You might be able to have the poles moved, but it will require additional bracing (i.e., poles)
post #3 of 27 Old 12-27-2004, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter

I would like to relocate just the support poles a few feet so they would not be inside the room. I wasnt sure if this was even possible, and even if it is , I would have a professional do it. I guess I can live with them if I have to , I just wanted to check to see if it has been done before or if it is possible. BTW, I have a Sanyo Z3 as my projector.
post #4 of 27 Old 12-27-2004, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 77
The steel poles under i-beams in a basement are called "lolly columns".
They can sometimes be moved, but you need a professional structural engineer to decide for sure. They can usually only be moved a couple of feet one way or the other.