HDMI terminating in box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-10-2005, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Fezmid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,
I asked a similar question a week or so ago and got no response. Hopefully I will get one this time... :)

My current pj (L300u) doesn't have HDMI. However, I'd like to try and futureproof by running an HDMI cable anyway.

My question is, is there a way to terminate this in a box? Are there HDMI plates that I just havn't seen?

Also, does it matter which cables I buy? I've seen Bluejeanscable.com and bettercables.com both mentioned on here. Are they both about the same?

Thanks.

CW
Fezmid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-10-2005, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
bob md's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CW,

I just did a google search & found this. I assume there are other vendors as well. Don't know how the cable connects to this....

Bob

http://www2.dvigear.com/hdmiwallplates.html

Slightly Pixelated
bob md is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-10-2005, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
japanesegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Boston, & Tokyo
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Fezmid
All,
I asked a similar question a week or so ago and got no response. Hopefully I will get one this time... :)

My current pj (L300u) doesn't have HDMI. However, I'd like to try and futureproof by running an HDMI cable anyway.

My question is, is there a way to terminate this in a box? Are there HDMI plates that I just havn't seen?

Also, does it matter which cables I buy? I've seen Bluejeanscable.com and bettercables.com both mentioned on here. Are they both about the same?

Thanks.

CW
What kind of distances are you looking for with the cable?

If it is under 15', most HDMI cables will do the trick. For longer cables carrying hard signals like 1080P, a lot of the HDMI cables out there can't do the job.

Also for a greater degree of futureproofing then an HDMI cable has to offer, I'd recommend installing a conduit instead. HDMI's short-term future seems bright, but for the mid and long term it's far less clear.
japanesegeek is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-10-2005, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Fezmid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bob - Thanks for the link! I especially like the HDMI and component video plate. It's a bit pricy, but looks pretty nice. The page says it's HDMI femaile to female -- so I'm assuming I connect the cable into the plate in the box, and then another cable from the projector into the plate. Looks cool.

Japanesegeek - My run is roughly 25'. Is that too long? I was thinking about buying the 30' cable from here: http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/dvi/dviprices.htm

I was thinking about doing conduit as well, just in case. But since HDMI looks like it's here to stay for awhile, I thought I'd run it now , just in case. I havn't quite figured out how the conduit works -- havn't seen anything to connect it to the low-voltage boxes, nor to connect multiple tubes of it together. I'm sure there's something out there, I just havn't been able to figure it out yet.

CW
Fezmid is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-10-2005, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
japanesegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Boston, & Tokyo
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Fezmid

Japanesegeek - My run is roughly 25'. Is that too long? I was thinking about buying the 30' cable from here: http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/dvi/dviprices.htm
CW
I haven't heard anything regarding that cable specifically, although Blue Jeans is a good company in general. I'd recommend with the Ultralink HDMI Pro Platinum Series cable, as I know people on this forum have tested it, and found it capable of doing 1080p even with DVI adapters on both ends.
japanesegeek is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-11-2005, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Fezmid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a source for that particular make of cable? I did a search on froogle.com, and all three stores that were listed were out of stock :(

CW
Fezmid is offline  
Closed Thread Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off