the definitive Grafik Eye master thread!! - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 1460 Old 01-27-2006, 09:13 PM
Member
 
SothothYog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully I won't get flamed for asking, but I can't find this in the forums...

Anyone got any pictures of the Grafilk Eye control panel in the color selection you can choose from? The Lutron web site only lists them.

I'm putting in a six zone system, and I'm thinking about black casing. Anyone have this in their set up?

Cheers

SY
SothothYog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 1460 Old 01-28-2006, 06:50 AM
Member
 
GREENGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could go to your Lutron Distributor and ask for one of the Lutron Catalogs. The catalog will have all of the colors displayed and listed; and the colors are pretty close to the real thing.

I think it's called "Lutron - Residential Lighting Controls Catalog". It's about 1/2" - 3/4" thick.

HTH

Oh, you may even be able to get Lutron to send one out to you. Lutron's pricing may be a bit high, but I have never, personally, known them to fall down in the customer service area.
GREENGA is offline  
post #123 of 1460 Old 01-29-2006, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
anyone know where I can get a real good deal on a 3104 grafik eye? best price ive gotten so far is about $541.00
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #124 of 1460 Old 01-31-2006, 08:18 PM
Member
 
JaserLet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am almost ready to pull the pin and go with a Grafik Eye system for my home theater. It seems to be the most reliable way to do these sorts of things. However I am tempted to go for more than just a 4-zone for the theater itself. Since my home theater is actually a portion of the basement and has no distinct doorway I am thinking of running all of the open living areas of the basement (the family/theater area, the fireplace room area and the stairway landing area) from a Grafik Eye system. But this will probably require more than 6 zones...

Can I use two 4-zone Grafik Eye systems, one for the theater area, and one for the rest of the basement... and link them together so some scenes modify all 8 zones instead of just the 4 from that controller? I would like to put a SeeTouch upstairs at the top of the stairs so I can turn the basement lights on to a certain scene before walking down the steps. So maybe my exact quesion is this ---- what are the limitations of having two 4-zone GE systems + 1 SeeTouch all linked together?
JaserLet is offline  
post #125 of 1460 Old 01-31-2006, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
what youre asking seems possible, the grafik eye system is pretty expandable I would check with lutron before purchasing anything, some members here seem to be pretty experienced also, I will be putting my order in for a 4 zone system tomorrow, my theater is a dedicated room so no need for more than that, low voltage 2 button backlit switch at the top of the stairs and a lutron 4 scene remote as a backup to my nevo sl touch screen remote
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #126 of 1460 Old 02-01-2006, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tweakophyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Boulder, CO, USA
Posts: 3,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaserLet View Post

I am almost ready to pull the pin and go with a Grafik Eye system for my home theater. It seems to be the most reliable way to do these sorts of things. However I am tempted to go for more than just a 4-zone for the theater itself. Since my home theater is actually a portion of the basement and has no distinct doorway I am thinking of running all of the open living areas of the basement (the family/theater area, the fireplace room area and the stairway landing area) from a Grafik Eye system. But this will probably require more than 6 zones...

Can I use two 4-zone Grafik Eye systems, one for the theater area, and one for the rest of the basement... and link them together so some scenes modify all 8 zones instead of just the 4 from that controller? I would like to put a SeeTouch upstairs at the top of the stairs so I can turn the basement lights on to a certain scene before walking down the steps. So maybe my exact quesion is this ---- what are the limitations of having two 4-zone GE systems + 1 SeeTouch all linked together?

You can tell each GE to "listen" to the seetouch panel. That panel should probably be for scenes 5-8 (or 9-12, etc.), and that grouping is set via a dip-switch. You can have one GE listen to the other as well. The problem is it will always listen to it and since you'll be controlling it from one GE, it will push scenes 1-4, and possibly 5-8 (via a remote).

What might be better is to get two seetouch panels. Put one at the bottom of the stairs and have all GEs listen to it for scenes 5-8. If you like you can have redundant scenes. When you go down stairs you can turn them all off, and you can also have regular scenes for the rest of the room trigger some kind of entrance scene for your HT. Put another in yout HT and have only your outer-room GE listen to it. By the way, when you wire these you daisy chain them all together, so you can figure out your combinations later.

Make sense?

I have a similar set-up, but both of my seetouch panels are at the bottom of the stair. One ST controls scenes 1-4 of the outer rooms, and the other controls scenes 5-8 in the HT. Since the kids (ages 1-3) like to go down and hit the buttons, I have it set up so the HT goes into ambience mode for the buttons they like.
Tweakophyte is offline  
post #127 of 1460 Old 02-01-2006, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by funlvr1965 View Post

anyone know where I can get a real good deal on a 3104 grafik eye? best price ive gotten so far is about $541.00

That is actually a KILLER deal... You do know that they retail at $850, right??

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #128 of 1460 Old 02-02-2006, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
yes I do and I placed my order for the 3104 yesterday with my lutron dealer and actually got it for $ 525.00 also placed and order for 8 scene remote and lvoltage 2 button backlit remote... and masonary box...total $ 812.00..... sweett!!!!
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #129 of 1460 Old 02-09-2006, 01:10 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, I hate to say it, but that's almost $300 for two remotes and a $15 box. (Or was it one remote and a wallstation?) Or are you in one of those 8% sales tax states?

Best I've seen on the 3104 is $500, though, so you did well there.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #130 of 1460 Old 02-09-2006, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Well, I hate to say it, but that's almost $300 for two remotes and a $15 box. (Or was it one remote and a wallstation?) Or are you in one of those 8% sales tax states?

Best I've seen on the 3104 is $500, though, so you did well there.


It was for one 8 scene remote and one wallstation, doesnt seem to be any big discount on the remotes, I could have saved on a 4 scene remote but my wife said I should get the 8 scene remote, heres the breakdown

grafik eye 3104 4 zone $525.00
masonary box $4.30
2 button seetouch wallstation $158.00
8 scene remote $125.00

just picked everything up today and a friend of mine is an electrician and is going to wire it up for me this weeknend, best part is hes going to do it for FREEEEE!!!!
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #131 of 1460 Old 02-09-2006, 02:44 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Before you get too happy, find cable that will connect the wallstation to the GE. You want the -346S. See attached.

 

cables_nonplenum.pdf 80.181640625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf cables_nonplenum.pdf (80.2 KB, 26 views)

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #132 of 1460 Old 02-09-2006, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
my electrician says he has this cable on his truck
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #133 of 1460 Old 02-11-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
well my electrician has just shown up so we are starting the installation of the 3104 and the seetouch 2 button pad, since the wiring for one one of the zones is seperate from the rest that will have to be pulled into the grafik eye, there will be some rewiring involved to get it there
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #134 of 1460 Old 02-11-2006, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
well the install of the grafik eye 3104 & 2 button touchpad is complete and my electrcian did a great job, this was his first grafik eye that he had installed, the system works great and I will experiment with some programming when I get some free time, for now im just using the default scene settings, I will also post some pics, thanks for all who provided helpful tips and gotchas to watch out for
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #135 of 1460 Old 02-12-2006, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
funlvr1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MADISON wisconsin
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
here are some pics from the install of the grafikeye 3104 which was completed yesterday (saturday) including the old x-10 lightswitches, there was a lot more to the installation than what the pics show but you get the idea...install was about 6 hours and was a free install, he would just like to sit in the berklines and watch a movie....
LL
LL
LL
funlvr1965 is offline  
post #136 of 1460 Old 02-20-2006, 10:35 PM
Member
 
robcaavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(I hope it's ok to post here)

Due to a mistake on my electrician's part (I had ordered two 3506), I ended up with 2 Lutron Grafik eyes model 3106, that I cannot use in my system. Can't return without losing too much money (Lutron return policies on open boxes are pretty painful).

Before putting them for sale on eBay, I thought that someone here might be interested. If you live in the Seattle area and are looking for one or two 3106 (perfectly working, with all the manuals), please send me a PM
robcaavs is offline  
post #137 of 1460 Old 02-21-2006, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Stima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ygpm
Stima is offline  
post #138 of 1460 Old 02-21-2006, 08:24 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Rob, why can't you use them? Do you have a GRX-PRG?

(And no, you shouldn't post for-sale offers here.)

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #139 of 1460 Old 02-21-2006, 10:00 PM
Member
 
robcaavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, I have a GRX-PRG, and will integrate the 2 3506 as part of my home automation (mostly based on Insteon products, with some help from the Apex Destiny 6100 alarm system)... I just have, oh, roughly half a million lines of code to write to make it all work :-)

Apologies for the abuse...
robcaavs is offline  
post #140 of 1460 Old 03-17-2006, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
redsing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone tell me if I can use a 3506 bought in the US in an installation in the UK?
redsing is offline  
post #141 of 1460 Old 03-17-2006, 12:07 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not a U.S-model 3506. You have 220V mains, right? With 50Hz AC? We use 110V 60Hz. And I think UK requires an integral box so that the hots aren't exposed.

There is a code that gets appended to the full model number that specifies a UK version. Check the Lutron web site.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #142 of 1460 Old 03-29-2006, 07:42 AM
Member
 
movieguy2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know where I can get the standard 3506 faceplate with the white/translucent front? I think the model number would be GRX-3105-T-WH.

Just looking for an on-line dealer that might be able to help.
movieguy2001 is offline  
post #143 of 1460 Old 03-29-2006, 12:13 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You want the faceplate or the whole unit?

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #144 of 1460 Old 03-29-2006, 12:39 PM
Member
 
movieguy2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just the faceplate.
movieguy2001 is offline  
post #145 of 1460 Old 03-30-2006, 08:55 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Contact Lutron directly. Be prepared to bend over.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #146 of 1460 Old 03-31-2006, 04:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Contact Lutron directly. Be prepared to bend over.

Is the price that bad? I too would like to change mine.

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #147 of 1460 Old 04-06-2006, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington,VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Movieguy,
I will have a white on white 3106 plate in a couple of weeks. I end up with extras after the engraving is done. If you can wait that long?
BillW is offline  
post #148 of 1460 Old 04-07-2006, 08:13 AM
Member
 
movieguy2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BillW - you haev a PM. Thanks.
movieguy2001 is offline  
post #149 of 1460 Old 04-13-2006, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You should be able to get a cover in any color for under $100 shipped (way under in many cases)
I have a few colors in stock.

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #150 of 1460 Old 04-14-2006, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for an All-Black plate, if someone knows where to get one.

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off