the definitive Grafik Eye master thread!! - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1541 Old 07-11-2015, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,843
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Isn't there a 40 watt (or was it 25 watt) minimum load per zone? Might have something to do with it???
Tedd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1541 Old 07-13-2015, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 5,200
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post
Isn't there a 40 watt (or was it 25 watt) minimum load per zone? Might have something to do with it???
That could be the case......

Have bulbs burning at full tilt, with resistance in wiring suspect close to required 25 watts. When GE tripped breaker, two step lights were at lowest level possible.
doublewing11 is offline  
post #1533 of 1541 Old 07-14-2015, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bombertodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Is the required watts calculated at full power or dim? What would happen if I had 3x10w LED's that dimmed to 3x4w?

Klipsch RF-82II, RC-62II
2x Dayton Ultimax 12, Behringer iNUKE3000DSP
Denon 2113ci
bombertodd is offline  
post #1534 of 1541 Old 07-15-2015, 04:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,843
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Minimum load. You would be below the threshold.
bombertodd likes this.
Tedd is offline  
post #1535 of 1541 Old 07-15-2015, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth Orbit
Posts: 3,448
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 605
I would refute this. I've had Grafik Eyes for almost 20 years, including 7 in my current home. I have a 6 zone GRX-3106 in my kitchen and one of the zones is a single light above the sink. It is a 50w bulb with GU10 base, but I can assure you it can be dimmed to the lowest minimum level (i.e the first click up from 'off') where the filament is barely burning. I guarantee it is using far less than 25 watts.

All LED drivers and loads are different, so I'd suggest trying it out IF you are starting with an LED fixture that's marked dimmable in the first place.
TMcG is offline  
post #1536 of 1541 Old 07-15-2015, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,843
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 176
The minimum load is what Lutron specs, so maybe it's a case of potential oddball issues, depending on bulb type, cropping
up.

A decade ago, I had issues with just two riser lights on a zone, but it's never been a problem with two 50 watt PAR20 4"spots, on
a single zone. I simply added two more lights to the riser zone, by "extending" that zone into the furnace room. Dimming worked
properly, problem solved.

How hard would it be, to add a couple of temporary fixtures to the problematic zone? That would rule out a problem with the GE,
versus load issues.


I wouldn't compare halogen to an LED. A single halogen is likely throwing off wattage in heat, then what several LED's consume.


I do know some people are having success with LED's though, but some aren't.
Tedd is offline  
post #1537 of 1541 Old 07-15-2015, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth Orbit
Posts: 3,448
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 605
There are 37 incremental dimming steps for each Grafik Eye zone. I'm well aware of the Grafik Eye specs (I'm actually Homeworks / Lutron certified and have designed many different lighting systems for up to 30,000 sq. ft. private residences), but I'm also telling you that one 50w halogen at the first step turns on, holds steady and has no ill effect on the Grafik Eye. If I was more motivated, I'd pull out the Grafik Eye and measure the output voltage going to this fixture.

If you don't have the capacity to add lights, you can add small in-line resistors. In the case of LED, use the 25 watt resistor in a metal box somewhere inconspicuous, if needed. All LED drivers are different in the way they dim and each has to be independently certified to be compatible with a particular dimming switch, including the Grafik Eye. Without knowing precisely the specifications of these lights, you're left with experimentation to see if it works reliably.
TMcG is offline  
post #1538 of 1541 Old 07-16-2015, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewing11 View Post
I have a two year old 3106 GE which has worked flawlessly with one exception........my steplight zone.

Original steplight install, electrician used non dimmable LED's which I was never happy with. On turning off system, steplights would pump light and eventually trickle to nothing or an extremely faint light pulse. Two weeks ago install replacement LED's which I thought were dimmable but evidently not........same light pumping but worst! Finally gave up notion of LED's, ordered two 7 watt incandecent steplights which worked great.......dimmable with proper lighting intensity. About 20 minutes after watching a movie......GE tripped breaker........went to sub-panel and couldn't get breaker to work.

This morning, pulled all steplights out..........checked for shorts or loose wires.......re-tightend nuts.......went to sub-panel, flipped breaker........worked.

I'm thinking A) loose wire in steplight/s B) load on GE with steplight zone was too low. c) Protection circuit was tripped due heat, load or whatever


Any thoughts? GE has been rock solid up until my antics with these darn steplights! HELP PLEASE!
I would have to guess there was a short, and you're really lucky you didn't kill you GE. Anything less than a short wouldn't have caused the breaker to trip. Some of those incandescent type step light have very exposed terminals and it would be easy and likely a ground wire would come in contact.

If you had a min. load issue (which you also likely have) the zone would flash, not go on at all, or stay on and not go off. The GE s really forgiving of the min. load, especially with incandescent loads, but any ballast(CFL) or driver(LED) driven load you should look out for. The GE will usually die before tripping a breaker, depending on how the fault happens.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1539 of 1541 Old 07-16-2015, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Some one mentioned a few posts back about controlling some Ropelight on DFDU receptacle connected to a GE. Let me just add my 2 cents..

It has been always frowned upon to control receptacles from dimmers. Previous to the DFDU I coudn't tell you haw many GE units we would sell for replacement when a cleaning crew would unplug a lamp to use it for a vacuum.

That being said the DFDU has a pronounced bump on it so you cannot effectively plug a regular plug into it and you have to purchase separately the RPU male plug end to replace that on the lamp (or ropelight) you want to control.

If you know, no one will ever mess with it, this is safe. However, if there is any potential for the location of the receptacle to be used for anything else I would strongly encourage to consider a different connection technique.

The RPU, HFDU (Half-hot or Half Dimmed) & DFDU (Duplex Dimmed, separable)

oman321 and bombertodd like this.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1540 of 1541 Old 07-16-2015, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Nice
Wildbrando is online now  
post #1541 of 1541 Unread Today, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
reb162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Prepaid Engraving Certificate Question

I installed a Grafik Eye QS in my theater (QSGRJ-6P-WH) and have been using it for a while and I'm finally comfortable with the scenes I have set up and I'm ready to finalize them by getting the buttons engraved. The unit I bought was white with a grey stripe and I wanted black so I have already painted the face plate (upper and lower) satin black and then I was just planning to use the enclosed prepaid engraving certificate to get the buttons engraved in a black color to match.

I guess I didn't read the certificate before that well, but it says "Redeemable for one button/faceplate kit".

When I go to the lutron website for the engraving forms (http://www.lutron.com/en-us/Service-...ingSheets.aspx), there are two forms, one for a button kit and one for a faceplate kit including the button kit.

Does this certificate really get me one or the other? In other words, can i order the faceplate kit, say in a metallic color, with the black buttons, with my certficate? My impression was that it only got me buttons, not any faceplate I wanted.

Also, I noted that the form for the buttons only asks for the certificate number while the faceplate kit does not...not sure what that means.

Any advice from those that have ordered their engravings?

Thanks
-Bob
reb162 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off