the definitive Grafik Eye master thread!! - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1634 Old 05-15-2017, 02:46 AM
Senior Member
 
atledreier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes, neither is the problem here. It's fade FROM OFF to any scene that is hardcoded to 3 seconds. I want my cinema lights to come on gradually when a screening ends, and the 3 second fade IN is a bit harsh after two hours in the dark. The scene's fade-in time only apply when going between scenes, not when going from OFF. It seems I'll just keep using my current workaround.

"Unplugging the signal cable is pretty much the ultimate in component isolation. Now if you removed the AC power and it still did it you should look for the little blond girl saying "they're he-re."
atledreier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1634 Old 05-18-2017, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Horta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Team

I am looking for a single solution and wondering if anyone here has any suggestions.

I would like a lighting controller that will dim six zones, but the zones are a mix, some bulbs (GU10 led lamps) and the other three zones will be RGB LED color changing strips. When I enter my theater a keypad on the wall with like 3 or 4 presets. But also, be able to control the lights with my URC MX-990 remote via RF to IR repeater. The main light controller is in the equipment room so not inside the theater.

I currently have an older Grafik Eye installed. Its an old GRX-IA-6. Its only currently controlling the three zones of bulbs. I have not bought any of the RGB Strips yet because I don’t know which controller and transformer to get that works with whatever Grafik eye I use. I have gotten mixed info that I can do what I want with my current controler, but then other people have told me I need a newer QS model Grafik eye with DMX controlers…but even then they are not sure sence they have no experience with RGB strips.

Yes I do understand that the Grafik eye nor my URC remote will be able to control the color mix of my RGB Strips. That I can change with an app on my cell phone. But it would be great is when someone comes into the theater, pushes on button and everything comes on to pre-set light levels. That’s the goal. One press.

Im open to any ideas that someone has installed, set-up, and works.

Thank you all in advance
Horta is offline  
post #1623 of 1634 Old 05-19-2017, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horta View Post
Team

I am looking for a single solution and wondering if anyone here has any suggestions.

I would like a lighting controller that will dim six zones, but the zones are a mix, some bulbs (GU10 led lamps) and the other three zones will be RGB LED color changing strips. When I enter my theater a keypad on the wall with like 3 or 4 presets. But also, be able to control the lights with my URC MX-990 remote via RF to IR repeater. The main light controller is in the equipment room so not inside the theater.

I currently have an older Grafik Eye installed. Its an old GRX-IA-6. Its only currently controlling the three zones of bulbs. I have not bought any of the RGB Strips yet because I don’t know which controller and transformer to get that works with whatever Grafik eye I use. I have gotten mixed info that I can do what I want with my current controler, but then other people have told me I need a newer QS model Grafik eye with DMX controlers…but even then they are not sure sence they have no experience with RGB strips.

Yes I do understand that the Grafik eye nor my URC remote will be able to control the color mix of my RGB Strips. That I can change with an app on my cell phone. But it would be great is when someone comes into the theater, pushes on button and everything comes on to pre-set light levels. That’s the goal. One press.

Im open to any ideas that someone has installed, set-up, and works.

Thank you all in advance
First and foremost the newer Grafik Eye (GE) QS is more tolerant of LED lighting then most, but you still may need some ELV dimmers on some LED which means adding an interface to each GE zone that needs one. For this reason I would recommend the Radio Ra 2 (RR2) system instead. You'll spend a little more but open up the possibility to control your entire home, or even use Google Alexa/Echo or Apple Homekit / Siri Voice control. In RR2 you would just have individual dimmers in your equipment room and a keypad in the theater (and/or APP control). If one or all of your LED require ELV then you only need to change to the appropriate dimmer model. No additional modules or wiring. The RGB is a hang up depending on how you want to control it. If you just want to use your RGB controller and a RR2 Switch or switched GE zone you could set up a scene that would turn on your RGB controller and if yours has that function it will return to wherever it was last. Not all RGB controllers have a memory though, some wills always come on at a default to some color, fade or flash.

The RGB w/ Grafik Eye is tricky but they (Lutron) make a DMX interface you could use with a newer Grafik Eye QS. Often this is too complicated for the average user. But it is possible and just takes a bit of time to set up. It would mean you need a DMX capable RGB controller though. The DMX function is probably the best way to handle it but you may lose your APP control unless you can find a DMX controller with app. Additionally it is only available when used with GE and GE DMX interface. Lutron has a free software to program this, but you may need to educate yourself on DMX (DMX512?).

On a more simple use we have done a single zone out of the Grafik Eye to a Magnetic Driver for the RGB. Between the driver and RGB we have a triple stack switch to turn on/off each color manually, and dim as a regular zone. This would be if you seldom changed colors. You could substitute this function of the with 3 relays and automate that to some degree as well. This approach(relays) is more suitable to use Radio Ra 2 as the VCRX piece can be used as contact closure for the relays. Or the New QS grafik Eye is RR2 capable anyway.

If you want to maintain the features of your RGB controller like fades, you'll have to power through the Grafik Eye as a switched zone only. Additionally you will only be able to dim that through your RGB controller app.

There are a couple companies doing some 3rd party stuff for this purpose also, but they are $$$
http://www.aionled.com
www.integratedledcontrols.com

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
 
post #1624 of 1634 Old 07-02-2017, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
mpjmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I am still searching for the best light switch for my theater. Looking to have 4 zones consisting of stage lights, step lights, sconces and soffit lights. I've narrowed it to either the Grafik Eye with a remote or 4 black insteon switches and a remote. Which would you suggest? I know the Insteon setup would save me a fewbucks but not sure how bright the actual led's on the switch are. This is a concern because my theater enterence is between the stage and seats. I don't want bright, distracting led's my the screen
mpjmeyer is online now  
post #1625 of 1634 Old 07-04-2017, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My Grafik Eye 3000 is just terrible at IR signal, it seems to really need something pointing RIGHT AT IT to work. Anyone else see similar things? I can't believe they haven't Z-Wave'd these things yet. I'd upgrade.

Anyway, I have a blaster on the same wall as the Eye but it's about 15 feet away, still can't seem to get the thing to talk to the GE. Anyone have any tips on getting an IR blaster from a Harmony to meet up with a GE on the wall?
BradP is offline  
post #1626 of 1634 Old 07-05-2017, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradP View Post
My Grafik Eye 3000 is just terrible at IR signal, it seems to really need something pointing RIGHT AT IT to work. Anyone else see similar things? I can't believe they haven't Z-Wave'd these things yet. I'd upgrade.

Anyway, I have a blaster on the same wall as the Eye but it's about 15 feet away, still can't seem to get the thing to talk to the GE. Anyone have any tips on getting an IR blaster from a Harmony to meet up with a GE on the wall?
IR is vaguely directional but if your blaster and eye are on the same wall how are they supposed to communicate?

Lutron doesn't do Z-Wave and likely never will. They have their own RF control in there more current QS Grafik Eye that speaks with the Radio Ra 2 family of products.
For older equipment you are stuck with IR, however if you read back through the thread you can see some tips for placing blasters in alternate areas. Likewise Lutron makes a couple different IR receivers and Keypads that wire to the GE and also act as an additional IR receiver. These each require their MUX link connection though.

You should find some 3rd party equipment that can incorporate the IR and Z-Wave if you want to try and integrate them.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1627 of 1634 Old 07-06-2017, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
bombertodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpjmeyer View Post
I am still searching for the best light switch for my theater. Looking to have 4 zones consisting of stage lights, step lights, sconces and soffit lights. I've narrowed it to either the Grafik Eye with a remote or 4 black insteon switches and a remote. Which would you suggest? I know the Insteon setup would save me a fewbucks but not sure how bright the actual led's on the switch are. This is a concern because my theater enterence is between the stage and seats. I don't want bright, distracting led's my the screen

I have Insteon switches. They work great and I highly recommend them. I'm not sure if you can turn the lights off or not. If not I wouldn't recommend them in your location because I think they would be distracting.

EDIT:

I just saw this: ". The status LED brightness can be dimmed to the
point that it appears off. The Insteon Hub and other central controller software allow setting of this device
property."

I'll try to adjust mine and see how they look.
mtbdudex likes this.

Klipsch RF-82II, RC-62II
2x Dayton Ultimax 12, Behringer iNUKE3000DSP
Denon 2113ci
New Theater Under Construction

Last edited by bombertodd; 07-06-2017 at 02:27 PM.
bombertodd is offline  
post #1628 of 1634 Old 07-06-2017, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
IR is vaguely directional but if your blaster and eye are on the same wall how are they supposed to communicate?

Lutron doesn't do Z-Wave and likely never will. They have their own RF control in there more current QS Grafik Eye that speaks with the Radio Ra 2 family of products.
For older equipment you are stuck with IR, however if you read back through the thread you can see some tips for placing blasters in alternate areas. Likewise Lutron makes a couple different IR receivers and Keypads that wire to the GE and also act as an additional IR receiver. These each require their MUX link connection though.

You should find some 3rd party equipment that can incorporate the IR and Z-Wave if you want to try and integrate them.
I have a Harmony hub and I believe the Elite also does RF so probably moving to an RF unit would work, but that looks pricey. I may just end up having to lose my beautiful Grafik Eye and going with something lower tech like 4 z-wave switches which can also be controlled via voice (amazon echo in the room) or the Elite which links up to smartthings. I was able to get a blaster to talk to the projector's IR but the Grafik Eye really seems to need direct line of sight with the emitter (even my Elite needs to basically point RIGHT at it to get it to fire). Way it goes I guess!

I'll look back for some of the IR blaster recommendations, thanks.
BradP is offline  
post #1629 of 1634 Old 07-26-2017, 07:54 PM
Member
 
killswitch1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am finishing up the planning stages on my theater. I already have Lutron on my main floor for 'scenes' in the family room, but it makes a lot more sense in a theater room. My 'zones' are:

Wall Scones
Riser Rope Lighting
Ceiling Rope Lighting
Front Pot lights
Back Pot lights

But in the furture I am considering motorized drapes, I understand the Grafik eye is capable of this? How do I future proof my wiring now to if needed it would be easy to add this in?
killswitch1968 is offline  
post #1630 of 1634 Old 07-28-2017, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 5,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombertodd View Post
I have Insteon switches. They work great and I highly recommend them. I'm not sure if you can turn the lights off or not. If not I wouldn't recommend them in your location because I think they would be distracting.



EDIT:



I just saw this: ". The status LED brightness can be dimmed to the

point that it appears off. The Insteon Hub and other central controller software allow setting of this device

property."



I'll try to adjust mine and see how they look.


I'm interested in your feedback on dimming the LED lights .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bombertodd likes this.
mtbdudex is offline  
post #1631 of 1634 Old 07-28-2017, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
bombertodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
I'm interested in your feedback on dimming the LED lights .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Totally forgot about this. I will try this weekend.
mtbdudex likes this.

Klipsch RF-82II, RC-62II
2x Dayton Ultimax 12, Behringer iNUKE3000DSP
Denon 2113ci
New Theater Under Construction
bombertodd is offline  
post #1632 of 1634 Old 07-29-2017, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
bombertodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
I'm interested in your feedback on dimming the LED lights .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Played with my Insteon 6 button keypad. You can dim all the way to off. Works great.

Klipsch RF-82II, RC-62II
2x Dayton Ultimax 12, Behringer iNUKE3000DSP
Denon 2113ci
New Theater Under Construction
bombertodd is offline  
post #1633 of 1634 Old 07-31-2017, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by killswitch1968 View Post
...I am considering motorized drapes, I understand the Grafik eye is capable of this? How do I future proof my wiring now to if needed it would be easy to add this in?
Depends a lot on what brand shade you are going with and what Grafik Eye (GE) you have. If you have a more recent Lutron GE "QS"(QSGRJ.....) it can speak wirelessly to the Lutron's "QS" series of shades. Some people gawk at the price, but they do have some affordable options in their Triathlon / essentials collections. The shades can be battery or powered. For powered shades you need 2 conductor power only. I have several jobs on Batteries and I think we're seeing more than 3 years on some of the original battery powered shades which are less efficient than the ones they produce today.

Some other shades work on 3-wire, 4-wire. Some of Lutrons wired shades use a 7 conductor. So I would assume that might be worst case or "Future Proof", but as with everything else A/V and future proof wiring the best thing you can do is put in a conduit and pull what ever you need.

If you already have a GE QS you have to get a replacement Cover to get the shade control buttons, OR if it's part of a Radio Ra 2 (RR2) system you can re-program any of the GE's Scene buttons for Shades, as well as any other RR2 Keypad. Or simply use one of their Battery Powered PICO Controls. If you have an existing GE QS and not part of a RR2 system, I might rather spend the money on the RR2 main repeater instead of a replacement cover. Because you can do more and extend the RR2 system to the rest of the home in the future.

If you have specifics you would like to go over please email me directly and, I'd be happy to discuss it with you. paul(at)hankselectric(dot) net

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net

Last edited by spiwrx; 07-31-2017 at 07:14 AM.
spiwrx is offline  
post #1634 of 1634 Old 07-31-2017, 06:33 PM
Member
 
killswitch1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
Depends a lot on what brand shade you are going with and what Grafik Eye (GE) you have. If you have a more recent Lutron GE "QS"(QSGRJ.....) it can speak wirelessly to the Lutron's "QS" series of shades. Some people gawk at the price, but they do have some affordable options in their Triathlon / essentials collections. The shades can be battery or powered. For powered shades you need 2 conductor power only. I have several jobs on Batteries and I think we're seeing more than 3 years on some of the original battery powered shades which are less efficient than the ones they produce today.

Some other shades work on 3-wire, 4-wire. Some of Lutrons wired shades use a 7 conductor. So I would assume that might be worst case or "Future Proof", but as with everything else A/V and future proof wiring the best thing you can do is put in a conduit and pull what ever you need.

If you already have a GE QS you have to get a replacement Cover to get the shade control buttons, OR if it's part of a Radio Ra 2 (RR2) system you can re-program any of the GE's Scene buttons for Shades, as well as any other RR2 Keypad. Or simply use one of their Battery Powered PICO Controls. If you have an existing GE QS and not part of a RR2 system, I might rather spend the money on the RR2 main repeater instead of a replacement cover. Because you can do more and extend the RR2 system to the rest of the home in the future.

If you have specifics you would like to go over please email me directly and, I'd be happy to discuss it with you. paul(at)hankselectric(dot) net
Thanks Paul that's all helpful. I guess it's not as straightforward as wiring in a Cat5e and a 14AWG! I think conduit makes the sense at this time. I have Lutron Shades on my main floor. Some are wired, some are on batteries, but I find the battery ones to be more finicky and slower to open and close. Appreciate the help.
killswitch1968 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off