the definitive Grafik Eye master thread!! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1445 Old 05-11-2006, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Erebus1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can raise or loser individual zones with Lutron's GRX-IRI infrared interface.

Attach infrared lead from the MRF-250/300 to the GRX-IRI. No RS232 codes are used with this unit.

Lutron has infrared codes to access all the scenes and zones from your programmable remote then.

Here's an excerpt from the installation and operation instructions:

Description
The GRX-IRI Infrared Interface allows auxiliary systems
equipped with an IR emitter to control a GRAFIK Eye
system. Up to 8 GRAFIK Eye Control Units can be
Assigned to listen to the GRX-IRI.
Features
The GRX-IRI allows auxiliary systems to access basic
functions using standard Lutron IR codes. These functions
include:
Selection of 16 Scenes plus Off on the Assigned group of
GRAFIK Eye Control Units.
Temporary Master Raise or Lower of all zones on the
Assigned group of GRAFIK Eye Control Units.
The Assigned group of GRAFIK Eye Control Units is set
using address (DIP) switches 1 to 8 on the GRX-IRI.

For ultimate flexibility, the advanced set of Lutron PRO IR
codes
can be used. These allow individual control of any
GRAFIK Eye Control Unit or Zone within the system:
Selection of 16 Scenes plus Off on any GRAFIK Eye Control
Unit in the system (Example: Select Scene 1 on GRAFIK
Eye Control Unit 2).
Temporary Master Raise or Lower of all zones on any
GRAFIK Eye Control Unit in the system.
Raise or Lower any zone on any GRAFIK Eye Control Unit
in the system.
Save the current settings as a scene on a GRAFIK Eye
Control Unit (only availabe with GRAFIK Eye 3500 or 4500
Series Control Units).

Steve
Erebus1954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1445 Old 05-11-2006, 12:20 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Good info. That got me thinking about whether the Grafik Eye itself recognizes the PRO IR commands. A call to Lutron Tech Support pointed me at this document that says they don't. The -IRI (and a wallstation like the SG-PRO) translates the PRO codes into data bus instructions much like the GRX-PRG uses.

Anyone have a price on the GRX-IRI and SG-PRO? I forgot to ask.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #183 of 1445 Old 05-11-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
sk8conz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 3104-CE (230V version) and have a couple of questions:-


a) For accessory keypads such as the seetouch, can I use cat 5 to connect back to the main unit ?


b) For dimming low voltage halogens, it would appear that:-

1) If I use a "traditional" transformer, then it's an MLV load that I can dim directly. I may have some problem with the transformer/light humming or singing, but it's a matter of try it and see.


2) If I use an electronic transformer, then I need the ELV module ??? Correct ?, or does the ELV module only serve to reduce/eliminate noise ???




What type of halogens/transformer combonation have most people gone with ? and did you use the ELV module ?

Thanks
sk8conz is offline  
post #184 of 1445 Old 05-12-2006, 08:07 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
a) Not legally here in the US. Any wiring - low voltage or otherwise - that enters a high (120V for us) voltage box must have a jacket with a breakdown voltage rating of 600V. Most cat5 doesn't have a high breakdown jacket It has been pointed out that standard black electrician's tape has a 600V rating, so if you wrap it up and clamp it like you should with any cable entering a box, and keep it separate from the power cables, you can do it. (Kiwi law may be different, though.) Check that standard cat5 has enough ampacity to handle the 12V power. Lutron uses 18 AWG for their power wires. Also be sure that your cat5 cable is rated for in-wall use (plenum rating is not needed).

b) ELV requires a different load setting on the GE but no separate module. Most people use MLV. I've never had a transformer problem driving MR16 (12V) lamps.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #185 of 1445 Old 05-12-2006, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Erebus1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Anyone have a price on the GRX-IRI and SG-PRO? I forgot to ask.

I paid about $75 for my GRX-IRI. A bargain compared to other ways to remotely control a GrafikEye.

Steve
Erebus1954 is offline  
post #186 of 1445 Old 05-12-2006, 02:03 PM
Member
 
sk8conz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

b) ELV requires a different load setting on the GE but no separate module. Most people use MLV. I've never had a transformer problem driving MR16 (12V) lamps.


Thanks for the reply. So you run MLV, and have had no problems with the light or transformer buzzing or making a noise when dimmed ?

I went ahead and hooked up an electronic transformer I had and it all seems to work fine, no buzz or hum. Should I set the GE to ELV or MLV ? Both seem to work. What are the pros/cons of each ?


Thanks
sk8conz is offline  
post #187 of 1445 Old 05-15-2006, 08:58 AM
Member
 
red5908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erebus1954 View Post

I paid about $75 for my GRX-IRI. A bargain compared to other ways to remotely control a GrafikEye.

Steve,
Where did you find teh GRX-IRI?
All I can find is the GRX-CIR for around $290!

Ron
red5908 is offline  
post #188 of 1445 Old 05-16-2006, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Erebus1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by red5908 View Post

Steve,
Where did you find teh GRX-IRI?
All I can find is the GRX-CIR for around $290!

Ron

I got it at http://www.hankselectric.com/ .

Steve
Erebus1954 is offline  
post #189 of 1445 Old 05-16-2006, 07:36 AM
Member
 
red5908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Steve,
Thanks for the response. I got my Grafik Eye stuff from Hank's too. I can't find the GRX-IRI anywhere. I wonder if it has been discontinued?

Ron
red5908 is offline  
post #190 of 1445 Old 05-16-2006, 11:49 AM
Member
 
Erebus1954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by red5908 View Post

Steve,
Thanks for the response. I got my Grafik Eye stuff from Hank's too. I can't find the GRX-IRI anywhere. I wonder if it has been discontinued?

Ron

I had a fair amount of trouble finding a GRX-IRI, too. Hank's didn't have it in stock, but they ordered it for me.

Steve
Erebus1954 is offline  
post #191 of 1445 Old 05-18-2006, 11:44 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
They have it in stock now, for $75. MSRP is reported as $100.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #192 of 1445 Old 05-18-2006, 06:14 PM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have experience with the LUTRON GRAFIC EYE GRX-MR-4T???

I am looking at getting one for my NEW MEDIA room I am building and wanted to know if anyone has one or has used one. Good device? Easy to program? I am going to have 3-4 zones with halogen (60W bulbs).

Thanks for the responses.

F
ballvice is offline  
post #193 of 1445 Old 05-19-2006, 05:34 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Same as any other Grafik Eye. Equivalent to the GRX-3104-T. Where are you? (Put your location in your profile.)

When you say "program", what do you expect to be able to do? Have you read the documents on the Lutron site? Have you read this thread?

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #194 of 1445 Old 05-20-2006, 11:30 AM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Same as any other Grafik Eye. Equivalent to the GRX-3104-T. Where are you? (Put your location in your profile.)

When you say "program", what do you expect to be able to do? Have you read the documents on the Lutron site? Have you read this thread?

Same place as you....ATL....

I have read a portion of the threads here....am very new to the Grafik Eye, but the info here has been useful. As I understand it....basically you set the lighting scenes' you want and save them, correct? We have SEVERAL at our office and the person responsible for the purchase said they can be complex to program the scenes.....from reading here..it seems fairly straight forward.

So I found a great deal on the "GRX-3104-T" and am looking at accessories. My media room is ALMOST complete and I have 3 lighting zones....I want to add blackout shades and an IR remote (or buy a remote that can control this unit).

Have been doing some reading here, lutron, and other sites....but its a lot of information for something I humbly didn't think about until after we started the media room.

Looking for some direction....where do I go for blackout shades and can they be put on Zone 4???

What are your thoughts on MEDIA center remotes. I hit the remote link in the first post, but a lot of the user reviews on the ones I looked at were less than good.

Looking for advice from the guru's.

Thanks!

F
ballvice is offline  
post #195 of 1445 Old 05-20-2006, 12:23 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes. An office environment is somewhat different, though, since several Grafik Eyes can be made to talk to each other and a single 'scene' may affect eight GEs and 50 zones. With a single GE it's quite simple.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #196 of 1445 Old 05-20-2006, 08:37 PM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty siked about getting it! Seems like "a must have" for a media room!
ballvice is offline  
post #197 of 1445 Old 05-23-2006, 06:48 PM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey DMF,

I am getting ready to wire....on the 3106.....how do you combine the "commons"....what is the best way to do this in the box? I am pulling 3 zones into this box...I konw that the "hots" go to the numbers.....do I just twist tie the commons to a single lead and run it to the common on the GE?

Frank
ballvice is offline  
post #198 of 1445 Old 05-24-2006, 04:41 AM
Senior Member
 
BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington,VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You've got it! In electrician speak that is called a pig-tail.
BillW is offline  
post #199 of 1445 Old 05-24-2006, 05:11 AM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great...so we hook will be "fading and un-fading" today...Media room is "almost" complete.

Frank
ballvice is offline  
post #200 of 1445 Old 05-24-2006, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington,VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the same for the grounds, and if you are using a metal box don't forget to install a ground screw and ground the box.
BillW is offline  
post #201 of 1445 Old 05-24-2006, 08:50 PM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
using a plastic 4 gang re-model...the contractor had already set the 3 gang box before I got the good deal on this unit...hope to install this tomorrow...want me to post pix? GRIN
ballvice is offline  
post #202 of 1445 Old 05-25-2006, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington,VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would strongly recommend using a metal deep (3.5 inches) masonry box. It is really difficult to get all the wires and the g.e. into a plastic box,especially an old work one (the drywall likes to break where the ears are. The masonry box could just screw into a stud and for romex connectors use Arlington Industries NM-94.
BillW is offline  
post #203 of 1445 Old 05-25-2006, 04:50 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Excerpt from Post #19 of this very thread.
-------------
Use metal boxes for GE installation, not plastic. There are three reasons:
1. Grafik Eye runs hot; metal dissipates heat better.
2. Triac-based dimmers can pump out a lot of EMI (electro-magnetic interference); a metal box blocks EMI.
3. Non-metallic box cable clamps are internal and most are unused; metallic boxes have no internal clamps to waste volume (especially important in a one-box installation).
---------

The third point isn't as important for a 3104 in a four-gang box as it is with a 3106, but you will find the extra cubes useful nonetheless.

Read the thread. We didn't post this info to amuse ourselves.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #204 of 1445 Old 05-25-2006, 08:02 PM
Member
 
ballvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Excerpt from Post #19 of this very thread.
-------------
Use metal boxes for GE installation, not plastic. There are three reasons:
1. Grafik Eye runs hot; metal dissipates heat better.
2. Triac-based dimmers can pump out a lot of EMI (electro-magnetic interference); a metal box blocks EMI.
3. Non-metallic box cable clamps are internal and most are unused; metallic boxes have no internal clamps to waste volume (especially important in a one-box installation).
---------

The third point isn't as important for a 3104 in a four-gang box as it is with a 3106, but you will find the extra cubes useful nonetheless.

Read the thread. We didn't post this info to amuse ourselves.

This will be my last post in this section of the forum....

Wanted to let you guys know that I have read a good bit of what is out here and some of the stuff on the Lutron site. In the midst of building the new media room, I have had several purchase decision to make and have been on a few of the other forums reading and posting. This piece of the media room was a big after-thought

Thanks for the generous replies....I humbly didn't realize this forum was so strict on asking some basic questions. I know that some of the quesitons I asked may have been posted, but I didn't realize there would be any harm in asking again...guess I was wrong.

I have 3 kids, full time job and I fly in the Military....Most of the stuff I need to retain in the old noggin relates to the things that pay the bills or keep me safe. Other things, I research and ask....most people just reply (I usually do as well...guess I am conditioned that way, but that's just me).

Sorry for stepping on toes....

Balz
ballvice is offline  
post #205 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 10:04 AM
Member
 
qthai99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me with my Grafik Eye 4508 I just bought? It was really cheap and it's making me doubt I got the right product. I thought it would look similar to the 3508 where there are 8 zones in the back to wire to. The front has 8 zones. What should the back of a GRX-4508 look like? There are no zones to wire to. How do I connect/install it?
qthai99 is offline  
post #206 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 11:05 AM
Member
 
timps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ballvice - don't take it personal - DMF is rude to just about everyone. I stopped posting here also because of him. I too was under the impression that users could gain DIY information here in a friendly, un-combative environment. I have received a TON of great advice from a great many participants - newbies as well as seasoned vets, but it only takes one to ruin an otherwise wonderful experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballvice View Post

This will be my last post in this section of the forum....

Wanted to let you guys know that I have read a good bit of what is out here and some of the stuff on the Lutron site. In the midst of building the new media room, I have had several purchase decision to make and have been on a few of the other forums reading and posting. This piece of the media room was a big after-thought

Thanks for the generous replies....I humbly didn't realize this forum was so strict on asking some basic questions. I know that some of the quesitons I asked may have been posted, but I didn't realize there would be any harm in asking again...guess I was wrong.

I have 3 kids, full time job and I fly in the Military....Most of the stuff I need to retain in the old noggin relates to the things that pay the bills or keep me safe. Other things, I research and ask....most people just reply (I usually do as well...guess I am conditioned that way, but that's just me).

Sorry for stepping on toes....

Balz

timps is offline  
post #207 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 11:14 AM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Look at the Installation Guide on the Lutron web site to see what the back looks like.

Unlike the 3000 (and lower) Series, The 4000 (and higher) Series Grafik Eyes do not have integral dimmers in the control unit. (That's how they can fit 8, 16, or 24 zone controls in a single unit.) Dimmers are installed in a separate power panel. The control unit merely tells the panel what dimmer levels to set. Accordingly, the only wiring on the control unit is control wiring. You never connect standard house wiring to it.

Without a power panel and the various gadgets that mount in it, your 4508 is useless. That's why you got it cheap.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #208 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 12:09 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by timps View Post

Ballvice - don't take it personal - DMF is rude to just about everyone. I stopped posting here also because of him.

Rude? Rather, direct. In your case, timps, you started your long pout when I suggested that your questions belonged in a separate thread since they had veered off topic and were inappropriate for a sticky thread. Too bad you've changed your tactic to sniping.

As for suggesting that ballvice read and heed the early posts in this thread, I make no excuse or apology. Once upon a time every newbie DIYer would start a new thread here wanting to know all about Grafik Eyes. As a result, the guys that really knew about GEs, wiring, lighting control, etc. stopped answering the noobs. They just didn't have time to teach the same class every week. The noobs, if they got any advice at all, often got questionable advice.

Well, I was a noob once and when I didn't get responses I pointedly asked the guys why not. This thread is the direct result. The indirect result is that the experts are posting again because most of the questions are specific and have shorter answers than, "Tell me all there is to know about Grafik Eyes".

I'm sorry to see ballvice go, but it's his choice. If you two won't participate here, then who loses? You do.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #209 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 12:34 PM
Member
 
timps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all - my questions were specific questions - not "Tell me all about the Grafik Eye system" and your response was dead WRONG. You can NOT just tie them all together - maybe you should read the manuals.

Secondly "read the manual" is not an answer that someone who knows what they are doing would or should give if they are truly trying to help someone. Upon reviewing your responses, this seems to be one of your favorite answers. Lutrons directions can seem confusing and slightly misleading if you are not familiar with products as a professional installer may be.

Now you might have some positive input to these threads and you certainly answer enough questions for people but it is your overall condesending tone that I am questioning. As a "one time newby" you should recognize this more readily than others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMF View Post

Rude? Rather, direct. In your case, timps, you started your long pout when I suggested that your questions belonged in a separate thread since they had veered off topic and were inappropriate for a sticky thread. Too bad you've changed your tactic to sniping.

As for suggesting that ballvice read and heed the early posts in this thread, I make no excuse or apology. Once upon a time every newbie DIYer would start a new thread here wanting to know all about Grafik Eyes. As a result, the guys that really knew about GEs, wiring, lighting control, etc. stopped answering the noobs. They just didn't have time to teach the same class every week. The noobs, if they got any advice at all, often got questionable advice.

Well, I was a noob once and when I didn't get responses I pointedly asked the guys why not. This thread is the direct result. The indirect result is that the experts are posting again because most of the questions are specific and have shorter answers than, "Tell me all there is to know about Grafik Eyes".

I'm sorry to see ballvice go, but it's his choice. If you two won't participate here, then who loses? You do.

timps is offline  
post #210 of 1445 Old 05-26-2006, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Although the "posting for our own amusement" comment may have been a little strong, I definitely see DMFs point of view here...

Sometimes it's frustrating to get handfuls of PMs week after week from guys with single-digit post counts asking redundant questions that are clearly answered in the first few posts of the same thread where they found our names.

BTW, DMF and I have been in contact several times over the year or so that this has been going on, and I can say that there is more than a little but of sarcastic humor behind that comment... I definitely laughed when I read it.

I think that anyone who starts or significantly contributes to a sticky here has wished at one time or another that the Search function was explained a little better to people signing up for the first time. I use it all the time...

I welcome you guys to keep asking questions if anything is unclear to you.

Of course I would hope that you would spend some time browsing the first couple pages and the links that exist in those posts, but by all means feel free to ask away if questions still exist.

After all, the alternative is to go at it on your own, and if you read any of the links in the first few posts to the threads that prompted some of us sitting down and spending CONSIDERABLE time assembling this thread, then you know that there were some seriously unsafe installs being performed by otherwise well-intentioned DIY guys who really didn't understand the application of the product.

Grafik Eye lighting control makes a great addition to a home theater space, and really adds a lot of value to anyone with front projection. I mean for $400-500 total you can significantly enhance the contrast and perceived brightness of your setup without spending another dime on the video products themselves.

That has to be one of the better returns on investment in front projection!!

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off