SmX
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Completed Theater, updated after the theater was completed:

First off,

I want to thank all the people who posted incredible tips and techniques in avs that inspired me to get our home theater started. I studied avs and many other resources for over a year and learned a great deal of info. That, plus my building background lead me to get started on our theater.

I will use this thread as my journal and update it on a daily basis when possible.
I will post progress pictures, material usage, cost and time. If anyone cares to add any comments, tips or dont forgets for me along the way, please feel free to chime in.

The space i am using to construct our theater is our 2 car garage which we only used for the past few years to store junk. The garage is constructed with cement walls on 2 sides, the garage door is metal, the back wall and ceiling is drywall and wood studs. The floor is cement.

The idea is to build a room inside a room. Outside noise is not really an issue due to the quiet neighborhood we are in and the house is a quiet home for my wife and i (no kids). Keeping noise from travelling out the theater is more of a concern, but the garage as is right now seems to keep noise within it especially well when I run power tools at 2 - 3am, but bass will be another story .

The finished inside room dimensions will be 20' x 16' x 8.5" ceiling

Construction will be stagger studded walls all around with 5/8" and 1/2" sheet rock doubled layered on each side of the walls. There will also be insulation iside the walls.

The ceiling will be rsic-1 clips and channel hats with 5/8" and 1/2" sheetrock.
The ceiling will finish as a fiber optic starfield cieling with 4 random shooting stars.

The screen will be 140" wide 2.40:1 SmX ProMask-Curv masking screen with the acoustically transparent CineWeave screen surface. First row of seating will be 135" from the screen.