I don't know what to name my theater, but I am starting a thread anyway - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 294 Old 11-07-2006, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So as the title states I don't currently have a name for my theater just kicking some names around right now, but in the end I don't even know if I want to name it. At any rate here is the start of my first dedicated theater construction thread. Weeeee...

As I mentioned above this is my first attempt at a dedicated home theater build. I welcome all to come, watch, laugh, and even cry with me on my journy. Please don't be bashful and feel free to ask questions and post comments as well. Brief background, luckily for me I live in Florida which basically means no basement (like 95% of you lucky bumbs have) and instead I have a second floor media room. The room itself is a "finished" room meaning the builder who built my home put up walls and carpeted, and paint. So the good news is I don't have to frame, hang drywall, etc. the bad news is I don't have to frame, drywall, etc. I don't really feel like tearing down perfectly good walls if I don't have to. Downstairs below the room you can hear just about ever move since its directly over the kitchen and family room downstairs. I am hoping before all is said and done to cut back on the sound carrying downstairs quite significantly. I doubt I will be able to eliminate the sound carrying downstairs all together given the sound treatment I am going with is concentrated just on the floor. We shall see if I succeed in this goal or not. Well I suppose I will get further into details about goals and what all the tasks are that I have in mind later. In the mean time lets get to the good stuff.

I know what everyone is looking for pics. So lets start with the room layout.

The media room is 22'6" x 13'4"

The entrance pre-destruction. The french doors are solid core doors done by the builder.