Show me your RACK - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 12:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just set mine up last weekend. Still need to do some work on it and I'm waiting for a few more faceplates. I've still got to do some touch up drywall and final painting as well before its done.

(Click on picture to enlarge photo)



Door On.



Door on



I have more pics in the construction thread.

Cheers
Calvin
calv1n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
misterkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where is everybody getting their racks from? Sounds like a lot of them are Middle Atlantic brands...
misterkit is offline  
post #33 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 01:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine is a MA.
calv1n is offline  
post #34 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Vincent Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Middle Atlantic SRSR 4-30 Series 19" Rotating Sliding Rail System

Soon I will be buying the customized shelves...


If you cannot tell the difference between HD and SD on a large screen TV get your frackin' eyes checked!
XBox Live: Vinny516
Vincent Kennedy is offline  
post #35 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 01:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Vincent is that the APC S10 or S15 ? I see on the bottom of the rack? I'm just looking at both of those units right now for my rack what are your impressions of the unit?
Thanks
Calvin
calv1n is offline  
post #36 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Got my MA Slim 5 at BSWUSA.com.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #37 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Mine is a combination of several vendors Chatsworth, Gubber, and Middle Atlantic etc.. Most rack parts are standardized and interchangeable so I shop for the best price.
GPowers is offline  
post #38 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I agree with Mr. Powers. In fact I bought some stuff from the Gubber store on eBay and got my shelves from Worthington.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #39 of 2155 Old 04-25-2007, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
CARTERlikesPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Lomax View Post

Woodgrain Xbox baby-


Have to say, that's beautiful.

I wish I had the space for a "real" home theater.
CARTERlikesPants is offline  
post #40 of 2155 Old 04-26-2007, 03:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Vincent Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calv1n View Post

Vincent is that the APC S10 or S15 ? I see on the bottom of the rack? I'm just looking at both of those units right now for my rack what are your impressions of the unit?
Thanks
Calvin

Sadly it is neither. It is an H10 which is only the Power Conditioner. I wanted an S15, but it was too much to justify. My projector is the main thing that needs battery back-up and it is plugged in elsewhere, so I decided to save some money and only get an H10 for the rest of the components.

Next time I design it so my projector gets it'spower from the same place as the components (power run back to component rack). That way it has a battery back-up and I don't need two power conditioners.

If you cannot tell the difference between HD and SD on a large screen TV get your frackin' eyes checked!
XBox Live: Vinny516
Vincent Kennedy is offline  
post #41 of 2155 Old 05-07-2007, 08:55 PM
Member
 
pmauro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did you inset the x-box and other non-rack-mount components? Did you make them yourself? They're awesome.

pete
pmauro is offline  
post #42 of 2155 Old 05-07-2007, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
dreamhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm making the trip tomorrow to pickup a rack for my system. I'm curious if it's better to get one with sides or without. For right now, it's just going into a closet so appearance doesn't matter all that much. I'm more worried about heat buildup than anything else.

any advice?

My 'theater for 2' mini setup
e6600 oc'd to 3.6
nvidia 680i
8800gts sli
x-meridian (modded opamps, cap bypass)
4gb corsair pc8500
raptor raid boot
dreamhost is offline  
post #43 of 2155 Old 05-08-2007, 05:39 AM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmauro View Post

How did you inset the x-box and other non-rack-mount components? Did you make them yourself? They're awesome.

pete

They make custom faceplates for just about everything. I swear by them.

As far as heat buildup, the shelves actually keep the components separated to allow for airflow around each piece. You can install cooling fans etc to help with circulation if needed.

If the rack is going in a closet, I prefer the ERK solid sided units. It hides the wires etc and even though it's free-standing it still looks very nice.
Max Lomax is offline  
post #44 of 2155 Old 05-08-2007, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
T.Wells's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Lomax View Post

They make custom faceplates for just about everything. I swear by them.

I've been looking on the Middle Atlantic web site at how to size up the custom faceplates. Can you provide us with some links on where to buy them online and give us an idea of typical cost.

Thanks,
T.Wells
T.Wells is offline  
post #45 of 2155 Old 05-08-2007, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Texas Aggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Trophy Club, TX
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have bought from Lashen and will again. Roughly 110 a shelf though but that is the going rate.
Texas Aggie is offline  
post #46 of 2155 Old 05-08-2007, 03:40 PM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Download the rackshelf database here------->http://repnet.middleatlantic.com/rsh/RSHdataDepth.txt


The rackshelf part number is the same as the make and model #of your component. It also tells you the number of rackspaces each shelf will take up. Use this info to size your rack, don't forget to include vent spaces, storage, and room for future upgrades if needed.

I recommend downloading Racktools from the Middle Atlantic website. It is software used for doing rack drawings and generating take offs. It gives you overall dimensions as well. It's pretty easy to figure out and this way you can see what the rack will look like before you order anything.
Max Lomax is offline  
post #47 of 2155 Old 05-11-2007, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
c-not-k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a wall-mount 36" server rack from X-Mark

Here's the shelf the contractor built for it.



Here it is installed.



From the front



Wide view



I'm a network guy, which is why I went with a server rack. (I thought I'd save money, but that turned out not to be the case. I forgot about shipping charges.) I had originally planned on a floor-to-ceiling unit by the stairs, until my wife found the bar and I didn't have enough space. Room in the cabinet is starting to get tight, and I have yet to add a high-def disk player and cable box. The VCR will probably get punted. I like the look; it's clean and the glass is IR-transparent.
c-not-k is offline  
post #48 of 2155 Old 05-12-2007, 06:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lynchmob723\\ View Post

Of equipment of course. Preferably in theater/room

Im looking for ideas/pictures

Such as:
Behind the bar rack
In a side wall
Underneath the screen
Etc.....

If time allows, comment on why you choose to do it the way you did

Thanks

Hello:

I went with a Middle Atlantic rack + wheels.

Pic's below are the rack as delivered, empty and then full.

I have since added the top plate with the automatic fans, spacers and a 1U drawer.

I am very happy with the rack and the accessories that are available.

Splotto
LL
LL
LL
Splotto is offline  
post #49 of 2155 Old 05-12-2007, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Attached is a picture of the rack idea I have come up with using RackTools. Its a MA Slim 5


This is the link to a 3D rendered video of the HT design this will be going into (under the stairs.)
Home theater 3D rendering

Input welcome.

Check out the space I have to work with in the attachments here
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...chmentid=81559
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...chmentid=81560
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...chmentid=81561


My questions are, are the MA plates to fit components such as an Xbox360 easily ordered, do they come with the shelf that the component sits on and is there a way to get them cheaper than $167.41?





Full video:Full HT vid
LL

I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #50 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 04:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcritch View Post


My questions are, are the MA plates to fit components such as an Xbox360 easily ordered, do they come with the shelf that the component sits on and is there a way to get them cheaper than $167.41?

Hello:

My MA rack didn't come with anything. I had to order the screws and shelves separately.

As for the plates, or ears as I started calling them - the only plates I am using are those that came with the items themselves. I am not sure you will find MA plates that match the screw holes in your separates.

You should also consider rear support if you have something really heavy. My AMP weighs about 125 lbs loaded and it wasn't going to be supported by just the plates. I had to add a self-made cross brace at the back to support the unit.

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #51 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
swifty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Art Sonneborn]Here are a couple:





I love this rack the best! SPECIALLY THE BLONDE ONE SHE'S ANGELIC
swifty7 is offline  
post #52 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splotto View Post

As for the plates, or ears as I started calling them - the only plates I am using are those that came with the items themselves. I am not sure you will find MA plates that match the screw holes in your separates.
Splotto


My reciever, amps, UPS, video scaler...all will probably have "ears", but to get that clean look like Max Lomax's setup (in particular the Xbox360 and other game systems) I am going to want some perfectly pre-shaped cut out front panels. What is the best place to get them? Cheapest?

I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #53 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

My Wife said she didn't want to look at equipment.




AWESOME!!!!
DrZaus likes this.
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #54 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 06:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcritch View Post

My reciever, amps, UPS, video scaler...all will probably have "ears", but to get that clean look like Max Lomax'sMax Lomax's setup (in particular the Xbox360 and other game systems) I am going to want some perfectly pre-shaped cut out front panels. What is the best place to get them? Cheapest?


I got all my equipment from:

http://www.performanceaudio.com/

They say that they will do custom face plates for the MA racks if you provide the make and model of the item.

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #55 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splotto View Post


http://www.performanceaudio.com/

Splotto

Thanks, thats a great source for good prices on these products.

I finally get the custom panel/shelf thing. Here are the links:
http://repnet.middleatlantic.com/RSH/mainRSH.asp
http://www.performanceaudio.com/cgi/...oducts_id=2225
http://www.performanceaudio.com/medi...132/2225_s.pdf
I didn't realize the supporting shelf is all part of the deal. Looks easy to order, its just under the RSH part numbers.


Another question for Max Lomax or whoever. How do you get the rack to flushmount to the wood/wall around the rack like that? Just really precise measureing?

I dont want to end up with something like this guy where there are big gaps:


I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #56 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 05:18 PM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
First you need rear axcess to the rack enclosure, since it is a fixed rack system and you can't pull it out. Then you have to mount rack rails directly to the trim. 19 1/8" width to be exact.
If you have to use a pullout rack, then a slight gap around it is necessary for service. Cut that as close as you want, but you don't want to damage the trim when you are servicing the rack. If you have a clever finish carpenter, he can probably figure out a way make the side trim removable during service, yet have it fasten right in tight to the rack once you've pushed it back in.

I could be more helpful if I knew your exact application.
Max Lomax is offline  
post #57 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Lomax View Post


I could be more helpful if I knew your exact application.


Maybe you didn't see my post up above:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post10526860

Check out this picture
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attac...chmentid=81561

Down in the left corner of the picture you can see where the rack will mount behind the curtains.

I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #58 of 2155 Old 05-13-2007, 08:03 PM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Lol, no I didn't see that sorry..

Well, if having rear access is impossible, then you really can't do a fixed rail system like mine. Well, you could if you really knew what you were doing with these racks, but I'm not even going to attempt to tell you how, it wouldn't be a good recommendation.

Like I said, your best bet is to find a really good finish carpenter and tell him what sort of look you are going for, and get the rack ahead of time so he can have it there to work with. I'm sure they can get you pretty close.
Max Lomax is offline  
post #59 of 2155 Old 05-14-2007, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
jjcritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Lomax View Post

Lol, no I didn't see that sorry..

Well, if having rear access is impossible, then you really can't do a fixed rail system like mine. Well, you could if you really knew what you were doing with these racks, but I'm not even going to attempt to tell you how, it wouldn't be a good recommendation.

Like I said, your best bet is to find a really good finish carpenter and tell him what sort of look you are going for, and get the rack ahead of time so he can have it there to work with. I'm sure they can get you pretty close.

Again, sorry about the miscommunication. I do in fact have rear access to the rack. It is in the wall under the stairs so the cubby room will allow me access to the back. I am planning the Slim 5 MA and I was going to have drywall/mud up to the edge. Think this will work or should I go with molding? I just want that clean look like you have--almost like the face plates are screwed right into the wall.

I am mentally challenging you...so consider yourself mentally challenged

XboxLive Gamertag: SteelDr JJ

My Theater Build
jjcritch is offline  
post #60 of 2155 Old 05-14-2007, 06:09 AM
 
Max Lomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can't really tell what is going on there from the pictures.

But ok. If you have rear access, then you don't need to buy a rack, just the front rails.(Like $40 bucks). You mount the rails directly to the trim. I cannot overstate the importance of designing the rack ahead of time and getting the materials in before you start, especially if you haven't done this before. The opening needs to be built around the rack, not the other way around.
Max Lomax is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off