Show me your RACK - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2183 Old 11-10-2007, 04:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arialis View Post

Nice racks, But I think I am missing something. I am not seeing the backs closed off on many. And I am not seeing any fans for cooling. I know my rack is really hot and Had problems with my computer shutting off so I had to remove the back for now untill I can install some type of cooling solution.

I have the top plate on my MA rack with 3 fans mounted in it. It has a thermostat controller so they come on whenever the temp gets to a certain level.

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2183 Old 11-10-2007, 05:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mmmkam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are some pics on my DIY pull out (soon to be rotating) SLIM5 rack.

Still work in progress, but works great!
LL
LL
LL
Static Wick likes this.
mmmkam is offline  
post #93 of 2183 Old 11-10-2007, 04:22 PM
Member
 
tek-noid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: No. California
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a thermostatically controlled exhaust fan in the ceiling of the cabinet that holds my rack - the air dumps into the attic.

If it was easy, anybody could do it
Gallery
tek-noid is offline  
post #94 of 2183 Old 11-10-2007, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
accts4mjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmkam View Post

Here are some pics on my DIY pull out (soon to be rotating) SLIM5 rack.

Still work in progress, but works great!

Wow, that's pretty dang cool! How much are those sliders rated for? I'm thinking about building a rolling rack with casters and a face plate on the edges of the rack so it looks built in until you pull it out. Hadn't figured that I could DIY the sliders.

Mike
accts4mjs is offline  
post #95 of 2183 Old 11-10-2007, 05:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mmmkam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by accts4mjs View Post

Wow, that's pretty dang cool! How much are those sliders rated for? I'm thinking about building a rolling rack with casters and a face plate on the edges of the rack so it looks built in until you pull it out. Hadn't figured that I could DIY the sliders.

Mike

They are rated for 500lbs. They are about 3" in height and really heavy. The 12" lazy susan bracket that I got to go with it is rated for 1000lbs. The rack itself is only rated for 400lbs. I figure even if the setup is good for half the rating thats more than I will need anyway. I put a bunch of details on the parts in my construction thread if you want more detail. The best part is that you dont have to hassle with any service tracks or stands when you want to pull it out. I tested in with my approx 200lbs arrrss standing on it at full extention and it held fine.
mmmkam is offline  
post #96 of 2183 Old 12-03-2007, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
Rick@Videosonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey All,

I don't know where to post these pics. but it's a good idea on how to not do a Rack. Mods move them if you need to. I got these from a Training I attended. He didn't want to reveal the customers to us.

peace
LL
LL
Rick@Videosonic is offline  
post #97 of 2183 Old 12-03-2007, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Grae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finished this one up a couple months ago. Not mine, but a client of the company I work for.









Grae is offline  
post #98 of 2183 Old 12-03-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Very nice... looks like every thing is field terminated. Thats a lot of work. But it looks fantastic.
GPowers is offline  
post #99 of 2183 Old 12-03-2007, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by accts4mjs View Post

Wow, that's pretty dang cool! How much are those sliders rated for? I'm thinking about building a rolling rack with casters and a face plate on the edges of the rack so it looks built in until you pull it out. Hadn't figured that I could DIY the sliders.

Mike

Please do not emulate this shade tree mechanic or his accident waiting to happen.

Middle Atlantic makes their own sliding rack systems, including racks which slide out and swivel.

MAPs offerings go up to 30 spaces, and beyond that they recommend the AXS product family with the service track and track stand.

There is a great reason for that, and that reason is SAFETY.
They also include a safety strap for all large sliding racks to enhance safety.

Grab the photos of that rack, and you will see that it is already leaning forward with virtually no equipment in the rack...

Regardless of the rating of the drawer slides used, or whether or not it held the builder, this is not advisable method in any way, shape, or form.

Besides, you mentioned a clean look, the use of these drawer slides on a homemade base with galvanized angle brackets is far from clean open or closed.

I know that MAP racks are expensive, this is because they are well-engineered and they stand behind them.
If you want to skimp and save money, there are thousands of great ideas here on the AVS forum for ways to do a lot of your room yourself with common materials.

But don't skimp on safety.

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #100 of 2183 Old 12-04-2007, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Vincent Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if Middle Atlantic has any plans on selling an RSH faceplate/shelf for an Xbox360 with the HD DVD drive above it? I dont want to use 3U for the Xbox and another 2U for the HD DVD drive. I would like to stack them on one shelf.

If you cannot tell the difference between HD and SD on a large screen TV get your frackin' eyes checked!
XBox Live: Vinny516
Vincent Kennedy is offline  
post #101 of 2183 Old 12-04-2007, 02:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Kennedy View Post

Anyone know if Middle Atlantic has any plans on selling an RSH faceplate/shelf for an Xbox360 with the HD DVD drive above it? I dont want to use 3U for the Xbox and another 2U for the HD DVD drive. I would like to stack them on one shelf.

www.performanceaudio.com says they will do custom faceplates.

Go back a page and you will see some posts about it.

I am sure if you give them the dimensions you can get the faceplate you need.

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #102 of 2183 Old 12-04-2007, 05:00 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10




SRR is offline  
post #103 of 2183 Old 12-05-2007, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Kennedy View Post

Anyone know if Middle Atlantic has any plans on selling an RSH faceplate/shelf for an Xbox360 with the HD DVD drive above it? I dont want to use 3U for the Xbox and another 2U for the HD DVD drive. I would like to stack them on one shelf.

Probably not... MAP only adds components to the RSH database when they are sent in to be measured. This is because they guarantee the fit.

In my experience, they will not add stacked components to the database, but they will do anything you wish as a custom cut...
If you send in drawings, they will cut a custom shelf. But if your drawings are not correct, you still own the result.

I have written more orders for RSH shelves than probably anyone else in the US.

Either way, you are only saving 1U... I can't see how that is worth this hassle unless you only have 4 spaces left and all other options are exhausted.

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #104 of 2183 Old 12-06-2007, 12:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Chuck1906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What all do you all have your in racks?! I am thinking I will only need about 4 components in mine. I probably will have the cable box, HD DVD player, PS3/Blueray, Tuner, and thats about it. I guess I could add an amp to the system at some point.
Chuck1906 is offline  
post #105 of 2183 Old 12-06-2007, 03:23 AM
 
SteveMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Shop
Posts: 3,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck1906 View Post

What all do you all have your in racks?! I am thinking I will only need about 4 components in mine. I probably will have the cable box, HD DVD player, PS3/Blueray, Tuner, and thats about it. I guess I could add an amp to the system at some point.

Currently I have six amplifiers (in use), an HD-DVD player, receiver, scaler, and a sub on top. I am out of room unless I put a player on my scaler or build a closet to accommodate more components. I would be very happy with a Blu-ray tuner combo as then I would only need one more shelf. There is no harm in planning to have separates later on and reserving lots of room for them helps out. The more room, the better.
SteveMo is offline  
post #106 of 2183 Old 12-06-2007, 04:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck1906 View Post

What all do you all have your in racks?! I am thinking I will only need about 4 components in mine. I probably will have the cable box, HD DVD player, PS3/Blueray, Tuner, and thats about it. I guess I could add an amp to the system at some point.

Hello:

Power Center/Surge Protector
PVR
HDMI switch
Receiver
AMP
HD-DVD
PS3
Xbox
HTPC

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #107 of 2183 Old 12-06-2007, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Many people prefer to not have their rack within the filed of view, but for my build it was the best location.

Here's a shot showing the the built-in equipment cabinets along with the proscenium forming a shadow box around my screen:


And here's a closeup of one of the cabinets with the smoked-glass door open:


As you can see from this picture, the cabinets were constructed with a removable side panel for wiring access:


A 3" conduit runs between the left and ride side cabinets to tie them together for wiring.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #108 of 2183 Old 12-06-2007, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
NEC Video switch (backup)
NEC Viseo switch
Video Processor
Sound processor
Roku Soundbridge
Super Blue combo player
DVD player
Sat HD TV box
Neothings component switch
Xbox360 media streaming and games
Patch panel (ethernet & coaxial)
PC for remote control
GPowers is offline  
post #109 of 2183 Old 12-07-2007, 01:27 PM
Member
 
specsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stanwood Washington
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Lots of work to do still.


DSaint1347 likes this.
specsix is offline  
post #110 of 2183 Old 12-07-2007, 01:47 PM
 
scottyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: mound,mn,usa
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
specsix,
Is that a Middle Alantic?

scott
scottyb is offline  
post #111 of 2183 Old 12-07-2007, 02:58 PM
Member
 
specsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stanwood Washington
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
yes sir!
specsix is offline  
post #112 of 2183 Old 12-07-2007, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All I can say is WOW. Those are just breathe taking.
budeone is offline  
post #113 of 2183 Old 12-09-2007, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
auburnu008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26


I have rope lights around the screen and the rack that remote controlled. They are alot brighter than they look in this picture.




As you can see I built casters on the bottom if I ever need to pull it out.



War Eagle!
auburnu008 is offline  
post #114 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
dreamhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I'm as dumb as they come... arggghhhh

Finally broke down and purchased 2 of the middle atlantic wrk44-27 self standing racks to put in my 'temp' theater closet.

My problem is the stupid closet door is only 22" and the rack is 26" wide, LOL. Man I can't believe I didn't measure first...

Anyhow, does anyone have any experience with these racks? What I am trying to find out is wether or not they can be disassembled and then reassembled inside the closet. All I seem to find is that they are 'fully welded' on the internet, and it's really hard to tell in looking at them if I can indeed take them apart. Obviously it's a huge job, and if it's not possible it would be nice to know beforehand.

Dad always said 'measure twice' spose I shoulda listened more carefully.

My 'theater for 2' mini setup
e6600 oc'd to 3.6
nvidia 680i
8800gts sli
x-meridian (modded opamps, cap bypass)
4gb corsair pc8500
raptor raid boot
dreamhost is offline  
post #115 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 227




Latest pic taken today. For more details look at my WEB site. The power amps on the WEB site however are old. The new system is all tube.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #116 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never seen anything like that before in my life.. I want it!
budeone is offline  
post #117 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
videocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glimmie,
Well done! I thought it was a TV station

-Cam
Television Photojournalist, Video Producer, Voice Over Artist
Cam Communications Cinema Palace Construction Thread
Cam's Whole House AV and Automation Thread

LOGANED! 4-30-08
videocam is offline  
post #118 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck1906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That looks like Master Control at a TV station or Video Production company! LOL!
Chuck1906 is offline  
post #119 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 05:10 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Star Wars Episode IV, Kenobi's original lines: "Thats no TV station, thats a space station"

Glimmie, nice stuff.
SRR is offline  
post #120 of 2183 Old 12-31-2007, 05:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glimmie:

That is HARD CORE. I am in a total state of envy.

Very well done.

Splotto
(HT-Girlie-Man compared to Glimmie)
Splotto is offline  
Reply Dedicated Theater Design & Construction

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off